Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-26-2008, 06:09 PM
swamp gravy swamp gravy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default syncing MPC 1000 with M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1

Hey guys,

Hopefully you can help me out. I read about this in other forums, searched on this forum, and still cannot get this to work.

As it says, running M-Powered 7.1.....wrote a drum sequence on my MPC1000, 4 tracks worth.

Want to record it into Pro Tools, then build my track up by recording bass, guitar, etc....

Can anyone help me? I've seen a lot of information about doing this with LE, but none with M-Powered, maybe it can't do this function??

Here's the guide that I followed:

(from here: http://www.futureproducers.com/forum...d.php?t=231470)

For triggering the MPC1000 using MIDI Beat Clock with Pro Tools as the master device:
NOTE: (The only type of sync the MPC1000 has and can use is MIDI Beat Clock.)
1) Use a MIDI cable to connect the MIDI OUT of your Digidesign hardware (or M-Audio if using M-Powered) to one of the MIDI Inputs of the MPC1000.

In the MPC1000:
2) Go to the "MIDI/Sync" menu.
3) Set "Sync In" to the corresponding MIDI input port on the MPC.

In Pro Tools:
4) Set your tempo in Pro Tools. (See instructions at the bottom of this page.)
5) Go to the Setup menu and choose MIDI Beat Clock. Check the boxes for "Enable MIDI Beat Clock" and the corresponding MIDI output port.
6) Press play. The MPC should now be playing along with Pro Tools.
NOTE: (Make sure that the value for bars, in the MPC, is NOT set to zero. If it is set to zero, it will not be triggered.)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-27-2008, 10:54 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: syncing MPC 1000 with M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...0&itemid=27770
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-27-2008, 11:56 AM
swamp gravy swamp gravy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: syncing MPC 1000 with M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1

thanks for the reply, but that's what I'm doing (I also posted the exact same thing in my original post) and it's not working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2008, 06:35 PM
swamp gravy swamp gravy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: syncing MPC 1000 with M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1

anyone help on this one? I know people are getting this to work in Pro Tools LE but i'm using M-Powered and i'm not having any luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2008, 09:05 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,762
Default Re: syncing MPC 1000 with M-Powered Pro Tools 7.1

Do you have any other device you could use to test the MBC output of Pro Tools?

I know this may be redundant, but have you verified that the value for bars, in the MPC, is NOT set to zero. People miss that one all the time.

Can you give us a quick synopsis of what you've tried so far? Did you test with new cables?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sequencing Soft synths with MPC 1000 with pro Tools M-Powered gforceonemusic MIDI 1 10-21-2008 12:14 PM
Trouble Syncing Akai MPC500 with PT M-Powered 7.4.2 eXeMt MIDI 5 07-11-2008 07:32 PM
pro tools le 002 & mpc 1000 notrash 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-28-2006 10:44 AM
SYNCING MBOX WITH MPC 1000 JWALES 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-29-2004 07:01 AM
PRO TOOLS 1000 genelecRULE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 05-07-2003 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com