Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:01 AM
wuskool wuskool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: louisville,ky,
Posts: 20
Default getting the vocals inside the music

my dilemma i get musical mixes, and record good vox. but i cant seem to get the vox in a good blend with the music, is it in my compression or is it just my ear? ANYBODY GOT ANY GOOD TIPS?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:57 AM
Scott McLemore Scott McLemore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 79
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

Welcome to the DUC.

The whole song is not a solo no matter what the band thinks-- somebody's gonna have to compromise!

Sometimes it' a matter of what I've heard called "carving a hole with EQ" for your vocals to sit in-- happens between instruments as well-- if there's too much happening in one frequency range the part you want will be drowned out. For instance I am always having to scoop some high mids out of the rhythm guitar to hear the piano line.

With vocals in particular, you might need some tasteful compression, as they can be too peaky to get very loud without going into the red. Red (clip) is really bad in Pro Tools (input, plugin, or masters), by the way. Too much compression of the instruments can make them into a brick wall nothing will get through. Get the mix working as a whole, with some headroom, before you compress the masters.

Or... the suggestion nobody ever seems to want... you might have to turn down the band if you want to hear the words!!

Trust your ears-- they're the best tool you can have-- but looking at different kinds of meters (peak / RMS / spectrum / even SPL on live gigs) once in awhile sure doesn't hurt!

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2006, 07:58 AM
tommyj1112 tommyj1112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cuyahoga Falls, OH
Posts: 74
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

OK, well, you haven't really given us enough information to really be able to help you. There are pletny of general and generic tips or strategies out there on recording and mixing vocals, just do a Search for them.

But if you are looking for specific help with your mixes, then you really need to provide us with more information about what you are doing. What is your set-up like? What is in your signal path? What is your monitoring situation like? What is it about the blend of the vocals with the instruments that you don't like? What kind of music are you recording? Is there a certain style or sound you are trying to achieve?

It would even be better if you could post a clip so we can hear what you are talking about!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:46 AM
cfb25 cfb25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: California/ New york
Posts: 462
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

Is this before or after mastering? Mix the thing as well as you can. Then hit it with a c4 on multi-electro, then a L1-ult max so you get max about 4db, This always sit my vocals right in. These can't take anything and make it amazing, but it does a fine job of making something good sound great.
__________________
Chris Beaver Music
www.myspace.com/chrisfrankmusic

The Note Music
www.myspace.com/thenotemusic
Dual 2.0Ghz PPC 3gb Ram, Digi 002R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:57 AM
wuskool wuskool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: louisville,ky,
Posts: 20
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

WHATS THE CT4 AND OTHE PLUG YOU MENTIONED
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2006, 05:32 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,066
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

you can also try MID-SIDE processing. in other words, duck everything else from the center and then put lead voc into that space. Waves S1 makes this easy.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2006, 07:17 PM
cfb25 cfb25 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: California/ New york
Posts: 462
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

C4 is a multi-band compressor, and L1 is a lookahead limiter and dther... These are both waves plug-ins available in several packages.. Check it out at waves.com Their stuff is bomb, you can't go wrong, reverbs, compressors, eq's everything...
__________________
Chris Beaver Music
www.myspace.com/chrisfrankmusic

The Note Music
www.myspace.com/thenotemusic
Dual 2.0Ghz PPC 3gb Ram, Digi 002R
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-24-2006, 09:14 PM
Kryst Kryst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: GTA, Canada
Posts: 1,332
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

Quote:
C4 is a multi-band compressor, and L1 is a lookahead limiter and dther... These are both waves plug-ins available in several packages.. Check it out at waves.com Their stuff is bomb, you can't go wrong, reverbs, compressors, eq's everything...
Well, apparently you can go wrong when you learn about WUP, in many peoples' comments
__________________
Kryst
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-27-2006, 07:41 AM
Version 3.0 Version 3.0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 510
Posts: 10
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

what does WUP stand for?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-27-2006, 08:27 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: getting the vocals inside the music

Waves Update Program
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get my vocals to flow better with my music? ice0-5 Tips & Tricks 7 04-05-2011 10:24 AM
Ducking Music Bed Under Vocals gai777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-22-2007 11:42 AM
need to add some fullness to vocals and music dwayne00 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-14-2006 07:53 PM
Music minus Vocals bassbuddy General Discussion 11 03-25-2005 01:44 PM
Removing Vocals from Music Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-26-2002 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com