Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2005, 09:06 AM
djaikon djaikon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Default Very high latency with Mbox and Coreaudio

I'm getting a very high latency with my MBox using the Coreaudio 6.7 driver and Logic Pro 7. I've adjusted the buffer settings within logic to 64 but the Coreaudio manager defaults to 1024 and it seems it is locked at that setting. This makes it almost impossible to play virtual instruments! Any way to get around this 1024 default setting? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2005, 09:40 AM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Very high latency with Mbox and Coreaudio

You need to set the buffer size in whatever app you're using, since that will override whatever you set in the Core Audio Manager.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-17-2005, 10:31 AM
djaikon djaikon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Default Re: Very high latency with Mbox and Coreaudio

I set it to 64 in Logic but the CoreAudio Manager always says 1024 no matter what I set it to in Logic. I've tried all the different settings but it always remains at 1024.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2005, 11:47 AM
djaikon djaikon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 44
Default Re: Very high latency with Mbox and Coreaudio

Well I downgraded to the coreaudio 6.4 driver and it seems to be a bit better. I know digi doesn't want to spend a lot of time developing drivers for other software but come on! The 6.7 driver is unuseable with the mbox and Logic!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2005, 12:14 PM
Hahu22 Hahu22 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 63
Default Re: Very high latency with Mbox and Coreaudio

Be sure that the Core Audio drivers (version 6.7 if thats what you decide to use) are set at 512 buffer size. and then open logic. ( I only have Logic Express, so i dont know what the buffer setting diffrenes are in LP7, but, set the the buffer settings in Logic Pro 7 to 512 as well, and hopefully all should be well.

-RoSS
__________________
Dual 1.8 G5
1.5 gig ram
Mac OSX 10.3.4
Pro Tools LE 6.4
Logic Express 7
Mbox
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mic Level and high Latency issues PT10 Mbox 3 Mike_ macOS 10 10-01-2013 02:03 PM
Mbox2: What is the reason for high latency gulagurk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-17-2011 04:56 PM
LOW LATENCY, HIGH CPU USAGE Mbox setup.. a MYTH? ataraxia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-05-2009 08:49 AM
High Latency for 002, would upgrade to 003 help?? mrdosun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-19-2007 10:42 AM
High-frequency hum in CoreAudio 6.92CS2 j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-26-2005 10:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com