Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-03-2018, 07:05 PM
ejinbc ejinbc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 72
Default Re: Re-reminded that BIOS optimizations are critical

Biker

I looked at your profile. Your system is 'similar' to mine.

Did you do the BIOS changes - C-states and Speedstep OFF are both critical for 24/96 at 64 buffer.

I would recommend trying (1) unplug ALL USB devices except the interface, mouse and keyboard and plug in the interface to a port on the back of the machine, mouse and keys on the front ports - definitely no USB hubs; (2) disable all onboard devices that you can in BIOS (you might need the network card for licences); (3) unplug the video card and run off the 8700K (maybe driver/card problem - I have a 950); (4) if your motherboard has a HPET turn it OFF in BIOS; (5) disconnect (unplug) from all networks (my DAW partition never sees the network - use dual boot); (6) disable all security software including WIN 10 built in stuff (not on the Net, so don't need it);

There's a few ideas. Post more info about your system and I'll think about it some more.

BTW, do you have spikes even when you have nothing monitor or record enabled ? - if so that's really weird, I would bet on a hardware problem.

Free advice, standard disclaimers. Hopes this helps.

E
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-13-2018, 04:52 AM
Indub Indub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: london
Posts: 1
Default Re: Re-reminded that BIOS optimizations are critical

Hi .
I have a similar system (Cpu overclocked to 4.69 and MB) as you and was curious about the set Affinity tip so I tried it as you outlined and did not notice much if any difference when running at 512 buffers . Then I decided to exclude core no 6 ( the one that shows most usage in CPU Meter ) manually via Task Manager and lo and behold much less spikes in CPU as in momentarily hitting 100% before and max 56% after. I would love to know why this should be so any insights would be most welcome.
Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-07-2020, 11:58 AM
polyh3dron polyh3dron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 82
Default Re: Re-reminded that BIOS optimizations are critical

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejinbc View Post
After a quick Google I found a way to set affinity when Pro Tools is being loaded. Google "CPU Affinity Shortcut for a Program - Create in Windows"

For my 8700K i7 system with Pro Tools, I have found that leaving 1 core for the operating system is optimum for best low latency performance - no clicks/pops at 64 buffer when recording 16 audio & 3 Kontakt VIs with midi at 24/96 for over 3 hours.

For example, the command line to start Pro Tools using only 11 of 12 cores for my install:

cmd.e x e /c start "ProTools" /affinity FFE "C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\Protools.exe

<remove spaces in ".exe" above - required for posting on duc>

What this does is reserve one processor for the operating system. It seems that at low latency this decreases task switching on the core and thereby reduces CPU spikes - or something like that. If you look at the CPU load in Windows Performance Monitor, at low latency (64 buffer, 24/96) there is steady 10% activity on the released core, so Windows is doing lots of work to get the audio through the ASIO driver. Note, I use a MOTU 1248 interface with USB. At higher buffer settings this is not necessary on my computer.

I do not believe there is an easy way to do this on Macs.
Apologies for the necromancy, but I've been in a rabbit hole dealing with this same issue of CPU spikes and playing around with my ASUS BIOS settings with a X570 mobo and Ryzen CPU, and couldn't help but notice that you were talking about using 12 cores on a 8700K. This means that your hyperthreading is active, since that is a 6-Core CPU. Is it stable for you?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2020, 07:39 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,729
Default Re: Re-reminded that BIOS optimizations are critical

Quote:
Originally Posted by polyh3dron View Post
Apologies for the necromancy, but I've been in a rabbit hole dealing with this same issue of CPU spikes and playing around with my ASUS BIOS settings with a X570 mobo and Ryzen CPU, and couldn't help but notice that you were talking about using 12 cores on a 8700K. This means that your hyperthreading is active, since that is a 6-Core CPU. Is it stable for you?
You would probably be better served by starting a fresh thread(but here we are....). Hyperthreading is really down to a case by case scenario. You need to try it ON and test, then try again with it OFF and test(use the same session for an accurate comparison). Posting a Sandra report is often the best way to get advice(because it can expose hardware issues).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac OSX Optimizations tonejunkee macOS 1 09-05-2016 02:32 PM
Further optimizations for PC. shimmyshimmy Windows 1 09-30-2011 05:40 AM
Mac OS X Optimizations HELP ! ley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-26-2007 12:57 PM
Optimizations for 6.1? basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-20-2003 09:55 AM
XP optimizations for PTLE 5.3.1 eon sol 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-19-2002 12:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com