Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2019, 06:36 PM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 123
Default PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Hey guys,

I've been using PT 12.5 for Mac. Of course as I've updated operating systems, PT12.5 seems to no longer work with the latest Mac OS's. I just upgraded to OS Catalina. Is there a workaround to get PT 12.5 to still function on my Mac, like a partition or using an external HD or something thereof? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-13-2019, 09:47 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbarnesiii View Post
Hey guys,



I've been using PT 12.5 for Mac. Of course as I've updated operating systems, PT12.5 seems to no longer work with the latest Mac OS's. I just upgraded to OS Catalina. Is there a workaround to get PT 12.5 to still function on my Mac, like a partition or using an external HD or something thereof? Thanks!

Yes.

Dual boot your machine with an OS other than Catalina. One that is supported. So Sierra, High Sierra or Mojave.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2019, 11:10 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Erm.. in case of 12.5 you need 10.9 to 10.11 so time to upgrade PT to latest version.

Compatibility info here:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2019, 12:39 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Erm.. in case of 12.5 you need 10.9 to 10.11 so time to upgrade PT to latest version.



Compatibility info here:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart


Good catch.

I read that as PT 2019.5 as opposed to PT 12.5.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2019, 01:41 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Catalina support should not be so far away but will require latest PT anyway
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2019, 02:41 AM
IrelandM IrelandM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Carrickfergus Northern Ireland
Posts: 88
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Hi PT Users,

Does anyone know if we will see the 2019. Avid Ultimate release for Catalina before Christmas.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2019, 03:50 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,516
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrelandM View Post
Hi PT Users,

Does anyone know if we will see the 2019. Avid Ultimate release for Catalina before Christmas.

Regards
You have a better chance of seeing Slate release updates for their plugins than getting Catalina compatibility before Christmas.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-14-2019, 06:51 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Coming soon
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2019, 01:35 PM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 123
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Thanks for the replies guys. So summing up the replies, it appears that my best option would be dual booting with an earlier Mac OS, correct? Because even if I upgrade to the latest version of PT, it will not work in OS Catalina yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2019, 04:28 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,075
Default Re: PT 12.5 and macOS Catalina

Yes, for now if you need Catalina and PT you need two systems
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eleven Rack Compatibility with MacOS Catalina guijacobucci Eleven Rack 62 08-21-2020 11:29 AM
Can EuControl 19.9.0 be used with MacOs 10.15 Catalina? hanksinclair Artist Series 2 12-09-2019 10:54 AM
Catalina cqd Pro Tools 2019 10 10-09-2019 01:37 PM
macOS 10.15 (Catalina) and Avid Products Avid Technical Alerts 0 10-07-2019 11:11 AM
Catalina Ryan Young Pro Tools 2019 6 06-06-2019 10:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com