Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-24-2010, 04:33 PM
Charles Deenen Charles Deenen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 499
Default Question: Auto-locking and Mute locking

Before you go "he doesn't know this simple thing", let me tell you brain's absolutely dead right now... mush in fact :)

But, need to solve this problem that bugs me at the moment:

- Is there a way to set the automation mode (i.e. touch etc.) to "locked" for a channel ?

- Is there a way to set "mute" to "locked" for a channel ?

seems that everytime I accidentially do an all-mute, and then all un-mute, all my muted channels naturally have risen back from the dead and are now feeding through again, so like to find a solution to that (and yep, permently changing the output would do it, but that's not a good solution in this case)

Anybody please ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2010, 01:07 PM
SimonN SimonN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 24
Default Re: Question: Auto-locking and Mute locking

Not sure that I understand your first question - do you mean that you wish to be able to do a "change all" on the automation on all tracks except for one or a few that are "locked"?
If that is what you´re looking for, I think this passage in the ref. guide is for you:


To suspend automation for individual controls on a track:

1 In the Edit window, set the Track View selector to show the automation playlist for the control you want to suspend.

2 Do one of the following:
• To suspend writing and playback of auto- mation for only the displayed control, Control-click (Windows) or Command- click (Mac) the control name in the Track View selector.
• To suspend writing and playback of auto- mation for all controls, Control-Shift-click (Windows) or Command-Shift-click (Mac) the name of any control in the Track View selector.
• To suspend writing and playback of auto- mation for a specific control on all tracks, Control-Alt-click (Windows) or Command- Option-click (Mac) the name of the control in the Track View selector.


As far as question #2 goes, I see your agony there, have done that myself a couple of times. That has led me to do "deactivate and hide" on tracks I don´t use, but there are times when I want a track to be visual and more accessible than the deactivate and hidden ones, so I am also curious about how other users go about this problem!


Hope that helps a bit,

Simon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.3.6 Locking up jimst57 Windows 7 07-07-2013 05:50 AM
Locking up via LTC nobby Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-10-2009 12:00 PM
MIDI Locking question? SonicSupreme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-10-2005 11:43 AM
PT LE 501 locking up bvleugels 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-03-2002 06:27 PM
HELP ! locking VST >>PT via iac sandman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-05-2000 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com