Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-29-2004, 04:36 PM

Default Importing Multiple Video \"Movie\" clips into PT6

I'm an editor/mixer. My clients supply feature film video masters on either (1) digibeta or (2-3) 3/4" tapes. I digitize them, and import/spot them into the PT session. Why won't PT allow me to import more than one video file into one session? They aren't going to overlap in time. Currently, I have to copy the PT session and name them part 1, part 2, and separately import the video files into the two different PT sessions. What a pain.

Old 06-29-2004, 04:58 PM

Default Re: Importing Multiple Video \"Movie\" clips into PT6

Hello. Yes Pro Tools unfortunately does not allow for more than one QuickTime movie at any one time. Basically you have two options here. If it's at all possible, have your clients provide you with QuickTime movies instead of tapes. That way, their video editors can author a QuickTime with all the video, in one movie.

Or you can do this yourself, but it takes you a litle bit longer. You would have to capture the video and author the QuickTime yourself. This however is greatly simplified by iMovie. Capture your video into iMovie, put some black in between material, say 10 or 15 seconds. Then you can make your own QuickTime movie that will include all the video material in one QT movie.

Yet a third option is to either have one session per QuickTime movie or to just have the one movie at a time in one session. This of course is clunky and inefficient, as you have to close sessions, or replace movies every time you want to see the other one, etc.