Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2003, 09:33 AM
j creasey j creasey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 313
Default absynth & pt

i have never really used direct connect so could someone please tell me in point form how to properly use absynth with pro tolls 5.2 based on os 9.2.thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2003, 10:38 AM
ronev ronev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Posts: 196
Default Re: absynth & pt

Which Absynth version...pre-Native Instruments or post-Native Instruments?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2003, 10:44 AM
DIGIDUDE26 DIGIDUDE26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ca
Posts: 298
Default Re: absynth & pt

Months ago befor version 6 came out I tried messing around with the direct connect and absynth/pro 53. It was not easy getting them to work because if you have the studio collection installed as well the direct connect will not work anymore, that was the first thing i found out. Second.......once you get the direct connect working with Absynth it sounded like complete @$$. Distorted digital noise bla bla.........so I gave up. I will be getting absynth 2 here soon and try using it with PT's but I'm not expecting much.

goodl luck though creasey.
__________________
002r, Dual 1.25 G4, 1gig DDR, Dual 17 Studio Display, 12 Powerbook, HR-824's, NS-10m's Good Times!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2003, 03:51 PM
Homebelly Homebelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Wellington,New Zealand
Posts: 687
Default Re: absynth & pt

Don't give up on ABSYNTH just yet.If your going over to PT6 and OSX then i would recomend you give this bad boy a shot.It's just been ported to OSX and i got an e.mail from NI that told me A2 would be RTAS by the end of Next month.
I love this machine,,Brian Clevenger did the most awsome job of building it and he still dose all of the updates and rebuilds him self,,or so i am led to believe,,i
've played arround with this since it was a shareware and it has only gotten better since N-I took it over.
If your copy of ABSYNTH is a new in the box version then you will be entitaled to a free upgrade to A2,,sadly though,no DIRRECT-CONNECT or RTAS on OS9 for this version.But you could run it standalone and use the soundmanager and a split cable from your macs headphone jack to the inputs on your digi interface to pipe sound into PT.
Under OS9 it's easy ennough to set up an IAC bus with OMS so PT can talk to ABSYNTH.
As for DIGIDUDES problem,it sounds to me as though he might be using the 128 bit digi stream manager,,or what ever it was called,,N-I's apps dont want to play nice with this version,,use the old version.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2003, 08:42 PM
DIGIDUDE26 DIGIDUDE26 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: ca
Posts: 298
Default Re: absynth & pt

i actually used both.........they told me to download that 128 bit file......and that didn't change much. I still like absynth for stand alone.......but the direct connect thing was not worth the hassel anymore. OSX i hope will be a different story!
__________________
002r, Dual 1.25 G4, 1gig DDR, Dual 17 Studio Display, 12 Powerbook, HR-824's, NS-10m's Good Times!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2003, 10:07 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: absynth & pt

It's funny you should ask right now. I just last night got Absynth working with PT 5.2 Direct connect. It was easy. Follow the directions for DC in the Plug ins guide (pdf under "help") and it works. Sounds fantastic! Follow step by step, and it will crank!!
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2003, 12:01 AM
j creasey j creasey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 313
Default Re: absynth & pt

well that leaves me out [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img] i have the studio collection and i wont give up the best b3 sound (next to the real thing) you can get' it is post ni and it came bundled with a g3 i bought for my wifes web stuff 'thanx for your input.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-21-2003, 12:03 AM
j creasey j creasey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 313
Default Re: absynth & pt

well that leaves me out [img]images/icons/mad.gif[/img] i have the studio collection and i wont give up the best b3 sound (next to the real thing) you can get' it is post ni and it came bundled with a g3 i bought for my wifes web stuff 'thanx for your input.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Absynth 5 bubbabooweevil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-27-2011 06:07 AM
Absynth 2 zombie69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-27-2006 11:32 AM
Absynth 2 on 6? Bendrissa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-29-2003 02:13 AM
Absynth okay. Absynth & Battery = Error. Timothy72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-23-2002 05:58 AM
ABsynth haze General Discussion 2 05-29-2001 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com