Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-02-2018, 10:45 AM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
Default Options for CR pot and Master Fader

Love that we can now assign a Master Fader to the CR pot with 2018.7!

Couple of things.

1) on my Artist Control, if that Master Fader channel is not on the touchscreen, there is nothing that indicates the level you are twisting to. Maybe there could be some selectable options:
-if the CR control option is on a Master Fader, bank to that Master Fader when the CR is touched, a la the same option via touchscreen or fader pack
-for the Master Fader to stay locked as an available track on the touchscreen/fader pack to indicate level when the CR option is selected on that track in the session (I believe this is currently an option SEPARATE from the CR assignment)
-maybe the level can momentarily appear on the touchscreen when the control is moved, reverting to "normal display" some period of time (half a second? a second? immediately?) after the knob is no longer touched?

2) pushing the knob puts the fader at the bottom (no output). Cool. Is there also another "reset" option but to set it to zero instead, as you can with shift-touching faders (I tried that and it doesn't work)? There is this thread for the dock: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...90#post2495790 but where is the "option click" option on an Artist Control?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-03-2018, 06:35 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: Options for CR pot and Master Fader

I think the best option for 1 would to display it on the screen all the time - but you know what I'm going to say about timing.
For 2 I think resetting to 0 is a dangerous thing and could blast some peoples monitors (depending on their setup)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-03-2018, 07:11 PM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
Default Re: Options for CR pot and Master Fader

I think we agree on 1)... on all accounts...

Regarding 2), I saw your post in the other thread about that. Fair. But there’s an option for that with the Dock, apparently with an “option press”. So maybe it should never be the MAIN option as a failsafe, but at least with a modifier (shift, since there’s not “option” on the Artist Control?) it would take some serious effort to accidentally reset to unity... and blow your speakers...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-09-2018, 07:18 PM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
Default Re: Options for CR pot and Master Fader

So... something equivalent to Dock control, or...?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2018, 12:13 PM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 280
Default Re: Options for CR pot and Master Fader

Any ideas on how the same functionality of “option click” to zero on the Dock is done on an Artist Control, especially with no metering on the Artist Control to check?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Gain Structure Fader/Master Fader Question acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-16-2011 06:36 AM
Master Fader 6.7 Master Fader issues Bogner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-19-2005 08:42 AM
DIGI: Will it ever be possible to implement Pre-Fader Inserts on the Master Fader? Ricky Cobble Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-05-2003 05:47 AM
Compress Master Fader before deciding on individual fader's plugins? Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-11-2002 01:04 AM
Master inserts are post-fader? Was: L1+ on Master = clipping s2n Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-20-2001 08:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com