Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-06-2005, 01:34 PM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Building my Allenstein and...

All my parts will be at home tomorrow.
I am building the standard Allenstein.
I have read the Best Desktops etc... thread.
Also some links from there.
Anything else I should know?

It has been 2 years since I built my last AMD based computer.
I had built 5 or more before. Pentiums and AMDs.
Allen talks about ASUS K8V SE being hard to setup.
WHat should I know other than usual stuff?

And SATA drives did not exist last time I built a computer.
What is that? New interface?
Should I get a SATA drive as well?
I could spare some cash if it will help.

I also did 1 thing different.
I ordered 3x512mb RAM from crucial for a total of 1.5GB of RAM.
There was an issue with PT LE before with more than 1GB RAM.
I did not remember when I was ordering.
Should I put them all in or put in just 2?

Oh, I also got a Rosevill card with Radeon 9600 chip and 128mb 4x/8x etc..
Is that good?

Thanks...
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-2005, 08:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,220
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

The cool thing about SATA is that you can put in 2 more hard drives internally. Not a big difference in performance. I have 2 IDE drives and a CD and DVD drives on the IDE busses. Next I will be adding a SATA drive to load BFD as it like to be on its own drive. You can never have too many drives(AFAIK). As for the RAM question, I'd be tempted to stick all 3 in but you could start with 1 sticjk and add the others after you get XP setup. I run 2 gig in my setup with no troubles. (2x512 and 1x1024). Hope your setup goes well and you have a killer machine!
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-07-2005, 07:44 AM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

Everything looks good Yavuz. Spectrum is green.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-07-2005, 08:21 AM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

Quote:
Everything looks good Yavuz. Spectrum is green.

Allen
Hey Allen,
I remeber the first time you joined the list.
I can not not believe it has been 4+ years since then.
We should give credit DaveC for inventing such a nice test and
also daBasStaRd for opening our eyes to excellent AMD performance.
His was the first to push the track limits.
I believe he had Gigabyte GA7DX.

Also you Allen.
I do not know if people appreciate this anymore but
remember the times we had to try out MOBOs and figure out IRQs?
Using Windows 98?
Man... We had some patience.
Anyways, I personally appreciate you doing all these tests and updating your Allenstein thread.
Thanks man...
I will buy you a drink if you ever come to NY.
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-07-2005, 08:15 PM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

OK. Built it.
I did the DaveC after 32+24 I got bored and stopped.
CPU was 75% or so.
Anyways, I will do the full test tomorrow.
It just gets boring after a while (adding tracks etc...)

My real 2 questions now:

1. The Allenstein's CPU temprature censor.
Where do you stick that in?
My Antec came with no manual.

2. Any specific IRQ settings?
Everything seems to be fine.
I have not disabled network either.
I have internet connection on the machine as well.
Does not seem to bother anything.
Is it really necessary to disable network?

3.(I know I said 2 but... )
Should I disable the Promise fast track controller?
Is that where SATA drives connect to?

4. (I know I am pushing it...)
The power supply of this case...
How good is it?
Will it be OK with 4 drives?

Allen?
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:36 PM
Allen Hallada Allen Hallada is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sun Valley, ID
Posts: 6,686
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

Looks great Yavuz. Leave things as they are if you are getting those kinds of track counts right off the start. I don't disable my network when working on PTLE and don't have any issues with it, but I think it is really dependent on the type of network card you have. Record with it and if you start getting errors, then you can change things. That power supply should be fine.

Allen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-07-2005, 09:49 PM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

Thanks for the reply Allen.
Where do you stick the CPU temprature censor?

Thanks again...
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-08-2005, 02:27 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

I awlays thought the temperature sensor was inside the CPU itself. Are you sure it isnt ment to measure the temp of the airflow or the temp of the mobo?
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-08-2005, 05:32 AM
yavuzj yavuzj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,039
Default Re: Building my Allenstein and...

Well, there is one inside the CPU and that is readabale thru BIOS or
an Appleication like Sandra.
However, this case has a censor that goes somewhere.
It has a blue LCD display that shows the readings from that censor which is quite nice.
However, the case did not come with a manuual.
So, I do not know where that goes.
I was hoping other Allenstein builders woould know.
__________________
Yavuz AKYAZICI
Guitar Player, Composer
http://cdbaby.com/cd/volcano
http://volcanojazz.com
http://myspace.com/volcanojazz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allenstein vs Mac mantaray 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-30-2005 02:08 PM
Allenstein 64 bit ok for PT HD? bossa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-21-2005 10:55 AM
Building Allenstein-Three hard drive setup ? Ross H 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-27-2004 06:27 PM
Building my Allenstein Machine - Comments Carl Fuehrer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-17-2003 06:57 PM
questions about building the Allenstein machine! silence_of_stone 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-25-2003 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com