Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2004, 10:50 AM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 349
Default Building Allenstein-Three hard drive setup ?

Putting together an Allenstein...

I want three hard drives on my Allenstein. The ASUS mother board came with two red, thin Serial ATA cables with small black ends. I have plugged them into my primary and secondary plugs on the motherboard for the system and audio drive.

I want my third hard drive for BFD (drum program) and other soft synths at a later date. I will need to purchase another serial ATA cable, but from there how do I set up drive 3 on the mother board as well as the bios and xp.

Thanks in advance,

Ross

Rackmount case
ASUS kv8 deluxe
AMD 64 3400
Crucial 2 gigs ram
WD 10,000 rpm raptor - Audio
WD 10,000 rpm raptor - Soft synths
WD 7200 rpm - system
Maxtor 7200 rpm external - backup/transport
DVD burner
CD burner
Floppy
Matrox 550 dual video
Enermax 470 watt "noisetaker" PS
Wireless Mouse / Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-26-2004, 04:25 PM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 349
Default Re: Building Allenstein-Three hard drive setup ?


Checking back...

Looking at the motherboard, there is the ata 1 and ata 2 which is where the system and audio are connected. The other two open ata connections on the motherboard are stated as for Raid setups (primary/secondary) in the manual. Can I use one of those raid connectors for the third drive?

Ross
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-26-2004, 06:10 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: Building Allenstein-Three hard drive setup ?

Not sure I've followed you, but you shouldn't mix hard drives and CD / DVD drives on the same ATA. There is no problem with having two hard drives on the same ATA. Impossible to say what your board is capable of without looking at the manual (you've done that of course?). Once you have everything up and running with 2 hard drives, try putting the third drive in the RAID ATA slot and see what happens. Failing that, do what everyone else does, and make the third drive external, preferably firewire.

Many folk here will tell you you don't need a third drive.

Or you could get a fourth drive and go RAID. Probably cheaper than buying an external.

Or even copy my first PT setup. One drive for system & PT drive, and two others in a RAID setup for data. Go for RAID 1.

So much choice. What to do, eh?

Search the DUC above. It's all there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:18 PM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 349
Default Re: Building Allenstein-Three hard drive setup ?

Thanks so much for the reply. I have searched extensively and found a bit more but here is where I am.

I have the DVD/CD on the ide...so it isn't at all connected to any ata.

I would like one drive for system, one drive for audio, and one drive for BFD (drum program that REALLY needs it's own drive).

All three drives I purchased are SATA. It appears from researching the DUC that I put one on the sata 1 (system) one on sata 2 (audio) and one on the sata primary connector/raid connector but I set up the raid in bios as raid 1+0.

OR....I now through my searching am very interested in two hard drives for running session at higher rates 48, 96 etc. I could use my external that I already have for BFD.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

ASUS kv8 deluxe
amd 3400 64

Ross
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:27 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: Building Allenstein-Three hard drive setup ?

I'd purchase a fourth drive, and run two identical drives in the RAID slots as RAID 1. Put your audio on this. This records to two drives identical information, so if one goes down, you automatically have everything backed up, and you also benefit from getting faster data speeds on playback since the system is accessing both drives simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a Mac Pro, have a Hard Drive question! Hank Chinaski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-15-2008 02:13 PM
Re-Building -- hard drive and software... kbruff Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 01-24-2006 04:19 PM
Adding a third hard drive to The Allenstein Confused But Amused 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 09-09-2005 04:07 PM
Will this hard drive work (Allenstein setup)? Davidpgreer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-17-2005 07:17 AM
is it ok to have 3 hard drive in Allenstein Pc? keithl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 09-05-2004 10:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com