Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:09 AM
ptg ptg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

Anyone else having this problem?: After instancing TL Space TDM on any of four systems, all HD3 Accel w/ AVXL running 6.2.3 on Panther. CPU's are G5's - two first generation / 2 second generation - a Kernel Panic takes the system down within minutes.

Any ideas?

ptg
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:16 AM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

Ptg,
Contact Todd at TL. He's very good at support.
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-19-2004, 09:31 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

Probelms TL Space is wassting hours of my time Endless DSP reShuffle, Kernal Panics.
It all when away when I removed TL Space (Yes I have the latest version).
I've asked them to fix this a month ago and it's still not done. At AES all they would say is call us. They are saying nobdy else is having the problems that i am having - I guess that's not true.
I have a fresh system new hard drive, New OS installed from scratch, New Protools installed form CD's/ It's a virgin system and only TL Space gives me grief.
So I'll ask again TL FIX YOUR SOFTWARE!!!!!!!

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2004, 10:07 AM
FreeMntn FreeMntn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Novato, CA, USA
Posts: 24
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

Ah, if we could only have plugs that didn't really need the Accel chips use the other chips to begin with, then they'd be available without the big shuffle ... but no ... the Accel chips fill up FIRST, it seems. I guess we gotta plan ahead and load up all the Accel plugs first, eh?
__________________
David Freiberg
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2004, 11:20 AM
Trillium Lane Labs Trillium Lane Labs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 108
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

I've spoken to ptg this morning and we are actively working on identifying the problem. I will say that kernel panics are highly unusual and I can't recall having had previous reports of them with TL Space.

Roberts, are you going to start another thread like your last one?

Thanks

Todd
Trillium Lane Labs
www.tllabs.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2004, 11:31 AM
ptg ptg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

I spoke with Todd at TL Labs this afternoon and can say that he and his company are determined to figure out this issue. My post was only meant to help find an answer - not to "flame" a good company and a great product. The support that Todd provides is first rate and has indicated that he will have a TL team member visit Digi for further research.

Note to Roberts: I in no way shape or form intended to rile you up. I believe that Todd and TL Space want to and will help it's CUSTOMERS. I was just looking for an answer.


ptg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2004, 02:09 PM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

Please try the beta mixers in the additional files folder on the 6.7 install disk. Replace your current stereo/surround mixers with these versions............These mixer (plug-ins) were designed to limit their "size" (Input <x> Output count) to match the size of the largest mixer count on any other chip (HD, non-SRAM Accel, etc), allowing an Accel mixer plug-in to easily exit the Accel chip and occupy another chip.

This proved to help diminish DSP shuffles caused by "Accel-only" plug-ins. (Like TL Space).

Further, I'd expect better results with the entire 6.7 install (plug-in updates and all) due to some other DSP-loading priority improvements inherent within the 6.7 components.

Good luck,

-tvdb
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2004, 03:35 PM
Dutchmuzik Dutchmuzik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 2,025
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

So Tim, I have been very hesitant upgrading to PT 6.7. Normally I jump on every new release but I was out of town upon release and after following some threads on the DUC there seem to be some problems. Should I stay with 6.4. I just installed a new system from scratch on a G5 Dual 2.5 so I would love to run PT 6.7. Any suggestions ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2004, 06:37 PM
dr sound's Avatar
dr sound dr sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

Dutchmuzik,
i have gone to 6.7 cs1 with both of my systems that include G5 2.5's and have no problems!
__________________
Marti D. Humphrey CAS
aka dr.sound
www.thedubstage.com
IMDB http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0401937/
Like everything in life, there are no guarantees just opportunities.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2004, 07:47 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,512
Default Re: TL Space TDM causing Kernel Panics

Quote:
Please try the beta mixers in the additional files folder on the 6.7 install disk.
Also here in case you updated to 6.7 via the web:
http://www.digidesign.com/download/67/sw.cfm
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track Ultra causing Kernel Panics! jspence444 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 13 12-15-2013 10:02 AM
Mbox2 Drivers causing kernel panics? mkegvn 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-16-2011 02:08 PM
kernel panics bannerj macOS 0 01-07-2011 09:23 PM
Kernel Panics products7074740 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-10-2007 07:08 AM
Kernel panics LoganGrime 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-22-2006 02:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com