Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-04-2013, 10:59 AM
audiofreak11 audiofreak11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 39
Default 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

Hi!

I do mostly importing and exporting of audio files from others, for use on terrestrial radio. I do record at times, but it's not often, and it's just simple VO. I basically produce using audio sent to me, then send the finished product back to a client, usually as a WAV or mp3, and for one client, an AIFF.

Most of the files I receive and import into my sessions, are 44.1 mp3's. I've sifted through discussions about what settings to use when you record audio, but wanted to ask your thoughts about bit rate/sample rate when using audio already set at 44.1.

Is there any benefit to setting a session up higher than the original audio I will import into it? Would a session at 24/48 be any better than one set at 24/41 or 16/41, if the audio I am importing is a 44.1 mp3. Does it help me have any more dynamic range, or am I just wasting space on my Mac?

Is it better to just ask each radio station what their system handles on-air and match that as my session and bounce settings? Or can I go higher for improved audio?

Hopefully this isn't too stupid of a question, but I want to be sure I am working as efficiently as I can. I appreciate your help!
__________________
Regards,

Chris
ProTools 12.7
Mac OSX 10.12.2
Intel iMac 3.4GHz i7 (late 2012) with 32GB RAM
Digi 003r
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2013, 11:05 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,835
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

My 2 cents only, but considering your "market", which is radio broadcast, I doubt there would be any value in up-sampling. With the typical heavy limiting, and the limited bandwidth, I would stay at 44.1(although I do like the extra headroom of 24 bits).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2013, 11:58 AM
audiofreak11 audiofreak11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 39
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

Ok cool. Thanks! If I do use 24/48 for my session and then bounce to 24/44.1 for a WAV or 16/44.1 for an mp3, will I risk having audio issues with the final file? I guess it'll get smashed anyway when it's on the air, but I want to at least have it as clean as possible going to them, ya know?
__________________
Regards,

Chris
ProTools 12.7
Mac OSX 10.12.2
Intel iMac 3.4GHz i7 (late 2012) with 32GB RAM
Digi 003r
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-04-2013, 12:01 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,410
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

I agree with Albee, unless you're mixing on an analog console you might as well stay at 44.1. The bit rate determines the dynamic range, not the sample rate. There's no harm going to 24 bit in Pro Tools, though you may need to dither when bouncing back to 16 bit.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-04-2013, 12:04 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,410
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofreak11 View Post
Ok cool. Thanks! If I do use 24/48 for my session and then bounce to 24/44.1 for a WAV or 16/44.1 for an mp3, will I risk having audio issues with the final file? I guess it'll get smashed anyway when it's on the air, but I want to at least have it as clean as possible going to them, ya know?
I'm not actually sure if radio typically plays compressed files these days or not - that is "data" compression, not dynamic compression - they definitely use heavy limiters on the audio. I was always under the impression that they played CD quality files. Anyway, your best bet IMHO is to stay at 44.1/24 bit in Pro Tools and bounce down to 44.1/16 bit for radio.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2020.9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-04-2013, 12:30 PM
audiofreak11 audiofreak11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 39
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

Yeah that makes sense. Thanks so much to you both. I appreciate the input.

Most stations have their own individual settings so there is no guarantee it'll sound like the original when they play it, plus many stations still load audio in analog. But this will help me ensure they get something good and clean going in.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Regards,

Chris
ProTools 12.7
Mac OSX 10.12.2
Intel iMac 3.4GHz i7 (late 2012) with 32GB RAM
Digi 003r
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-04-2013, 10:25 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,195
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

Nobody knows what kind of "black box" the station is using, but as a rule of thumb -- if you want your material to sound punchy, you better leave lots of dynamics to the final mix. Those black boxes tend to work better with dynamic material and if you push the limiter too hard it's going to sound wimpy.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2013, 12:56 PM
audiofreak11 audiofreak11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 39
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

AAh, ok, that's good advice JFreak. I tend to process the VO to make it punchy, and then will try to keep the limiting/compression to a minimum on the master track, so there is more dynamic range in the final audio I send.

Thank you!
__________________
Regards,

Chris
ProTools 12.7
Mac OSX 10.12.2
Intel iMac 3.4GHz i7 (late 2012) with 32GB RAM
Digi 003r
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2013, 01:16 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
I'm not actually sure if radio typically plays compressed files these days or not - that is "data" compression, not dynamic compression - they definitely use heavy limiters on the audio. I was always under the impression that they played CD quality files. Anyway, your best bet IMHO is to stay at 44.1/24 bit in Pro Tools and bounce down to 44.1/16 bit for radio.
Yes, you've gotten good advice. Quality will not improve at all if you up convert a 44.1 file to 48 or even 96.

I'm sure "radio" gets everything. ISDN live shows can be of many compressed formats. MP3 files are everywhere. 44.1 and 16 bits WAV files will work everywhere.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2013, 08:33 PM
audiofreak11 audiofreak11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 39
Default Re: 44.1 or 48 if audio is imported?

Awesome. Thank you!
__________________
Regards,

Chris
ProTools 12.7
Mac OSX 10.12.2
Intel iMac 3.4GHz i7 (late 2012) with 32GB RAM
Digi 003r
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Imported Video doesn't contain audio DavidDubber 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-13-2010 10:54 AM
distorted imported audio caulto 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-09-2008 09:28 AM
imported audio is distorted mixit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-19-2004 08:45 PM
OT......... iMovie and imported audio Punx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-25-2003 09:31 AM
Imported Audio Syncing??? ronev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-29-2003 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com