Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2012, 05:19 PM
Buttonjaw Buttonjaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 14
Default Digital Performer user making the switch

Hello all-

I'm running a non-intel dual 2.5Ghz G5 mac (10.8.6) with MOTU Digital Performer and a 1224 card (8-in/8-out) and am finally making the switch to PT. What's the cheapest Digi hardware interface to get to have at least 4-in/4-out with my current Mac setup? Is this a good idea? Or should I just bite the bullet and buy a new Mac and get an Mbox?

Thx in advance for help.

Buttonjaw
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2012, 08:07 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,254
Default Re: Digital Performer user making the switch

002 & Pro Tools 7.4>8 license or Accel and 192 (PCIx) HD 7.4<8.0x

New Mac and upgrade your 1224 card to pcie
Or get an Mbox Pro/Pro Tool 10
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2012, 08:50 AM
Buttonjaw Buttonjaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 14
Default

Great thanks DetroitT! Will look into the 002/ProTools combo.

Anyone else running an older Mac with Digi hardware?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2012, 04:05 PM
Buttonjaw Buttonjaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 14
Default

My good friend says I should buy an Mbox Pro 3 which comes with Pro Tools 10 (with a free upgrade to PT11 when it comes out). But according to the Avid knowledge Base i need Snow Leopard to run PT10 and I can only run 10.5.8 on my dual G5. Is that right?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2012, 05:00 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Digital Performer user making the switch

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buttonjaw View Post
My good friend says I should buy an Mbox Pro 3 which comes with Pro Tools 10 (with a free upgrade to PT11 when it comes out). But according to the Avid knowledge Base i need Snow Leopard to run PT10 and I can only run 10.5.8 on my dual G5. Is that right?
upgrade grace period is only 30 days and I don't expect PT11 for about 300 days

yes, you can not run 10, 9 or 8.0.3+ on a G5
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-08-2012, 10:10 AM
Buttonjaw Buttonjaw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 14
Default

One more question: can anyone comment on the quality of the A/D converters on a Digi 002 vs. the Mbox Pro 3? Seems there's not much online about the difference. TIA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone here a former user of Digital Performer 6? hwalker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-27-2009 09:09 PM
Making the switch from PC to MAc KMAN385 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-22-2006 01:15 PM
Anyone switch to Digital Performer ? Pop-cycle General Discussion 5 06-11-2004 08:35 AM
new user--Digital Performer import question devoid2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-03-2003 02:37 PM
Thinking of making a Switch Shak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-28-2002 12:49 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com