Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2017, 02:17 PM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 292
Default 2 ilok user ids?

HI
I just bought a dinr ilok license. I have 2 user ids with ilok and I got the license transferred to the account with no iloks registered to it by accident.
I contacted ilok and they recommended I contact the plugin publisher. I'm not sure if the Ilok license I got has been activated top another ilok.
Hoping Avid can chime in as how to proceed
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2017, 03:52 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,245
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

As this is a user forum Avid wont chime in on this so use their contact form on the Avid website and ask them what to do.

This is as I see it a Ilok problem and not an Avid problem so the fact they said contact Avid seem a bit wonky to me.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:23 PM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 292
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

here's from ilok...
"If your licenses have never been activated to an iLok, you can contact the software publisher for assistance. They are the only ones that can recall the deposit and place the license in the account you wish to use"
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:27 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,245
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

Ok, then you need to contact Avid supoort. Nothing users here can do for you.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2017, 04:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,319
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

You purchased the license from Avid? Or used from somewhere else?

If Avid then go ahead and fill out a support request here http://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppor...-music-support.

If you purchased it from some other user... Associate an iLok with that account, or if you own both accounts transfer the license yourself between accounts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2017, 07:39 PM
pie55 pie55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 292
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

thanks. Is there a way around the $25 transfer fee? Or will I just need to pay it again?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2017, 09:54 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,985
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

Beyond what others have mentioned, there is no problem using multiple iLoks from multiple accounts on the same computer
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2017, 08:21 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 11,319
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie55 View Post
thanks. Is there a way around the $25 transfer fee? Or will I just need to pay it again?

You still are not explaining clearly what you have done. You purchased a used license from another user? Or from Avid? It went to an iLok account controlled by you or somebody else?

If it was a private sale and it went to the wrong iLok account and you want to transfer it to the correct one then yes there is normally a fee... but you, or somebody you know, has to have control of the account it went to to initiate that transfer. If iLok would take pity on you and waive that fee I don’t know, but doubt it. If you do not have control of that account then I suspect the seller and you need to contact iLok Support again for help. Very worse case, and unlikely, the license is gone forever... you need to be super careful doing things with these licenses.

If the iLok account it went to is controlled by you then you can always put the license on a separate iLok and use from there.

The advice you got before from iLok Support may be because you were not being perfectly clear about what was going on.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-06-2017 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-2017, 11:40 AM
octatonic octatonic is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 135
Default Re: 2 ilok user ids?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie55 View Post
thanks. Is there a way around the $25 transfer fee? Or will I just need to pay it again?
iLok.com charge developers to revoke/reissue licences so it would be unusual for a company to eat the cost of that because a customer gave the wrong iLok account.

As others have said, there is no issue with having multiple iLok's from different accounts on one machine- this is the advantage over hard drive authorisation, your licenses are portable.
__________________
If I put all my gear in my signature we'll be here all day.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-06-2017, 05:26 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,617
Default 2 ilok user ids?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pie55 View Post
thanks. Is there a way around the $25 transfer fee? Or will I just need to pay it again?

Ask Pace (iLok.com) to merge your two iLok accounts into one.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.2.

Pro Tools HD 12.8.1, Mbox3, MOTU PCI-424 w/ 2408mkII & 1224 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2, Focusrite Scarlett 18I8 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok License in different user ID Michael327 Pro Tools 11 Discussion 1 04-16-2014 11:03 AM
New user-no license on iLok SpencerB Pro Tools 9 Discussion 4 05-03-2011 12:28 AM
Do I really need to buy an iLok key to user PT9? uz3r Pro Tools 9 Discussion 5 12-18-2010 09:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com