Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Old 11-17-2017, 08:32 PM

Default Anomaly HD Native vs HDX

I'll attempt to explain this as best as I can. I've been mixing a feature Doc on an HDX system and decided to port the project over to my HD Native system as an experiment to do a check and i've come across something that makes no sense at all.

Basically the Master Meter's on the 5.1 and 2.0 busses don't read at the same levels on HDX versus HD Native Hardware how's this even possible??!!

I have a Master 5.1 bus and 2.0 Downmix bus both have meters that read identical on HD Native ( but my overall mix is hot by 3 dB on the native system) however on HDX Rig the 5.1 Meter reads that I'm on target but the 2.0 Downmix reads 3 dB hot. In addition the downmix which is being fed via the 5.1 master bus will not show the same peak limit spec that the HD Native system shows..

OMG WTF is this?

has anyone ever seen this or experienced this before.

to re-cap, according to the HD native system I'm 3 dB hot but the 2 stems match identically with LKFS and True peak reading,,, HDX shows 5.1 on Target but 2.0 is 3dB hot with a true peak above spec..
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Old 11-17-2017, 09:46 PM

Default Re: Anomaly HD Native vs HDX

Super obvious questions (sorry). Are meter types the same, same time constant and same offset?

You are mixing so hopefully nothing being monitored or no low-latency monitoring causing plugins to be disabled anywhere on HDN (just make sure low latency monitoring is disabled)....
Old 11-17-2017, 09:49 PM