Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 06-04-2017, 09:24 AM

Default Cubase and Protools

Recently I have been looking into better ways for my workflow.

I have been a loyal Protools owner since it's inception as well as MOTU Digital Performer. I may actually pick up a copy of Cubase and insert it into my workflow this summer as a test. I love PT a lot now, but see not a lot of progress with midi and so sometimes I am forced to use DP, which I grew up with. I am a working pro, starting a series this year and want to have the best I can offer to my clients and ease my scheduling. I have always felt that PT is a mix desk and sounds the best. That's why I think people like Zimmer and "especially" Junkie XL use Cubase as a master and then slave Protools to Cubase to send stems to. It's an interesting idea. I see more of my colleagues that are using Cubase. I just did a feature where I had to get Protools over to a mix room that was Steinberg Nuendo and saw a lot of great things in that program also. Again, I am not planning to leave Protools, but it's like a toolbox for me. You use what works for the gig. I even use Live 9 a bunch with certain writing that I need to adapt quickly for a cue. I also have Logic, but not using as much.

Any thoughts would be welcome. Thanks in advance for any comments.

Here is a thread I just found about Cubase vs Protools that is recent to get things started at the top of the linked page: https://www.reddit.com/r/audioengine...ottom-comments

Protools 2019.6 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.6, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Old 06-04-2017, 10:02 AM

Default Re: Cubase and Protools