Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2012, 08:18 AM
David Hardie David Hardie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Default Ctrl+Cmd+Space not working right in 10.3....

I made a post in the Mac OS X forum about this, but have had no takers, so I thought perhaps General Discussion might be a more appropriate place...

I'll quote myself...

"I recently updated to PT10.3

The keyboard shortcut to prime for Record or Playback works OK to prime the Transport, but when actioning the Spacebar to record or playback the primed state is cancelled and nothing happens.

If the Transport is primed with the keyboard and then clicked with the cursor to run, it runs fine!

If the Transport is primed with the cursor and then actioned to run with the Spacebar, the primed state is cancelled and nothing happens.

The cmd-spacebar shortcut to Record works fine.

Have I done something blindingly obvious and stupid?

I did a clean uninstall of PT10.3, then made a fresh install of PT10.0.1 and the 002 drivers. The keyboard shortcut to prime the Transport for recording, ctrl+cmd+space, worked as it should; once primed in "record pause", pressing the spacebar put the Transport running in Record.

I did a clean uninstall of PT10.0.1 and made a fresh install of PT10.2 and the 002 drivers. The k/b shortcut worked fine.

After a clean uninstall of PT10.2 and fresh install of PT10.3.28 the symptoms I described in my original post have returned.

Has anybody else had this problem? Does this k/b shortcut work for you in PT10.3?"

I would like to know if this is either just my local problem or is it something that broke with the 10.3 update?

For now I have rolled back to 10.2 because I want that keyboard shortcut!

For info, this fault in 10.3 happens with both my wired and my bluetooth keyboards. I want the shortcut because I use the bluetooth keyboard to prime and start the transport when I am recording myself, and I do that some distance from my desk. Yes, I could use the Cmd+Space to start recording, but not with my toes!

Hey, it's no big deal really, just aggravating!
__________________
i7 Mini, 002R, OSX10.7.4, PT10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2012, 10:13 AM
matthias.matthias matthias.matthias is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 65
Default Re: Ctrl+Cmd+Space not working right in 10.3....

Confirmed.

Unfortunately it is not the only short-cut not working in PT 10.3.2

F11 (wait for note) or Alt-clicking in the timeline to set pre-/post-roll are just two examples. Maybe we should start to collect them.
__________________
FR: MIDI Playlist View
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2012, 02:03 AM
David Hardie David Hardie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Default Re: Ctrl+Cmd+Space not working right in 10.3....

Thank you matthias!

Mac OS X 10.7.4 here; you?
__________________
i7 Mini, 002R, OSX10.7.4, PT10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2012, 01:41 PM
matthias.matthias matthias.matthias is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 65
Default Re: Ctrl+Cmd+Space not working right in 10.3....

Sorry about not getting back to you any earlier.

I'm on Windows. So it's apparently not a Mac/Win-thing.
__________________
FR: MIDI Playlist View
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2012, 03:33 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,827
Default Re: Ctrl+Cmd+Space not working right in 10.3....

Quote:
Originally Posted by matthias.matthias View Post
[...] or Alt-clicking in the timeline to set pre-/post-roll are just two examples.
Cannot confirm this. This works fine over here with 10.3.2.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyboard probs like Ctrl+Alt+M not working. ChuckS Windows 8 05-12-2017 01:29 AM
Some ctrl functions not working nciviero Windows 2 09-13-2011 09:39 PM
ctrl,cmd and k is not working anymore? lowq 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-29-2009 10:54 AM
ctrl+tab or ctrl+alt+tab not working Sebastien Richard 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-09-2006 10:10 AM
ctrl+click/ drag not working !! please help!! shamelessnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-31-2004 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com