Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:59 PM
Che_Guitarra Che_Guitarra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 323
Default Hooking v-drums up to Strike?

After using Strike for a while I can now safely say i'm completely over real drums, setting them up, micing them up and sorting placement, conditioning the room sound, tracking them, and all the rest... especially considering i end up sound replacing most of the hits anyway to get that 'metal' sound.

I've now got a session drummer on board that also has a Roland V-Drum kit, so i'm keen to throw real drums to the curb and work out how to get this new alternative up and pumping.

Before I get him to bring the kit in, i'm wanting a 'connecting v-drums 101' so we can hit the ground running. Can anyone tell me the process of getting v-drums into Strike and heard thru my monitors? Any pointers are much appreciated
__________________
A quality equipment list isn't nearly as impressive as quality results
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2009, 08:43 AM
burningbusch burningbusch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 272
Default Re: Hooking v-drums up to Strike?

Unless something has changed recently with the way Roland does the hi hat on the v-drum, it is going to be a challenge for you. The V-drums HH are not mapped F#1 (closed), A#1 (open). It's a continuous controller thing so there is complete variation from tight closed to full open. There are some software drum products out there that properly map the V-drums. I'm pretty sure Strike is not one of them.

Busch.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2009, 08:46 AM
burningbusch burningbusch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 272
Default Re: Hooking v-drums up to Strike?

Here's a nice little video that shows Ocean Way drums mapped to the V-Drum Hit Hat. It give you a good idea of the complexity of sound you're dealing with.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS0-29tyT-A

Busch.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:24 AM
drumdh drumdh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Phoenix, USA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Hooking v-drums up to Strike?

I am very interested if you have any success with the vdrums and Strike. I am going to pick up the VI either way, but would really dig it if I could use the kit with it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:58 AM
srslab srslab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 117
Default Re: Hooking v-drums up to Strike?

I use the TD20bk kit in our studio. I recently started using strike but as with the td20 kit I have recorded midi and then used the 8 outputs from the TD20.

What I found really cool is to record the midi then break it out and play it back through the TD20 to isolate and adjust each piece of the drum kit.
__________________
James Shelby
SRS Labs
Aurora, Colorado
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2009, 04:57 PM
Che_Guitarra Che_Guitarra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 323
Default Re: Hooking v-drums up to Strike?

So I need to sort out the different zones on the hi-hats (and cymbals in general i'm guessing). I'm guessing I need to map this prior to tracking or the hat hit information will be simplified to one channel - is that what'll happen? Or can I adjust this after the fact during mixdown?
__________________
A quality equipment list isn't nearly as impressive as quality results
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike for E-Drums? jglover51 The Drum Room 1 08-31-2011 09:17 PM
Anyone using Strike with V-drums Wayne Dawkins Virtual Instruments 2 08-22-2010 08:48 PM
Hooking Strike up to a Behringer FCB 1010 As A Footcontroller doppler58 The Drum Room 3 02-18-2010 02:10 AM
can i use my v-drums with strike? music project Virtual Instruments 6 11-29-2006 08:31 PM
How To Set Up Strike With V-Drums ChaplainPC Virtual Instruments 1 10-18-2006 06:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com