Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-12-2005, 04:26 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

Hey all!
I want the Solo button in a Channel (above the Fader!) to not be coupled to the Solo in the 5 Sends.
With the Mute Button everything is going fine, but not with the Solo s....
I do monitoring for the musicians via the sends (of course pre fader) and have what I hear on the normal faders. So Output 1-2 go to my speakers, 3-4, 5-6, 7-8 are the monitoring mixes.
What has to be done to make this work? I did not find anything in the manual either...

thanks guys!

Cheers, Andi
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:06 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

anyone? or am I that stupid?
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:12 AM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montrιal, Quιbec
Posts: 5,089
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

I think you want to Safe Solo the sends by Command-clicking solo button of the return bus channel. This way, soloing a track will not mute the sends.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:40 AM
Sevenlights Sevenlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 78
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

Yup, that's what I'd do too.
__________________
Scott Cooke.
Mountain View Records
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-14-2005, 09:43 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

I just checked on my system and PRE sends don't mute when the channel is muted via a solo. Look elsewehere for your problem (do you have Aux Masters not in solo isolate?).

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-14-2005, 11:07 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

Thanks Guys, but I΄m talking NOT about the MUTE Button, I am talking about the SOLO Button!
I want to hit Solo on the Channel and I DO NOT want the sends, that are in this Channel to go to Solo, too! I tried what u suggested, but that does not work.
As said before, I do the monitoring via the sends, and I want to PFL the stuff they play during record and playback, but of course I DO NOT want the other outputs that go to the headphones to do these Solo stuff as well! The musicians would be disturbed by my actions.

Thanks again!

Andi
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-14-2005, 11:24 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

Right - reread my response.. "if the track is muted by another channel being soloed.. the pre send is not muted" -- This means you can have your cue sends on Pre and solo any tracks and it won't affect the cue mix.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:40 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

Quote:
Right - reread my response.. "if the track is muted by another channel being soloed.. the pre send is not muted" -- This means you can have your cue sends on Pre and solo any tracks and it won't affect the cue mix.

Rail
Sorry, Rail, I do not understand that.
I open a new session.
I create 1 mono audio track.
I create in this a.t. a send (a) to the outputs 3-4 of my digi002r.
now I have the send Fader on screen. in there I hit PRE.
NOW - if I hit solo in the Channel (not the send) the send goes to solo, too.
and vice versa.

and what is SOLO ISOLATE? I have not found this in the manual. I would be very cool, if you could show me! or just tell me the page it΄s on...

Thanks a lot, man!

Andi
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-19-2005, 10:51 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

You can isolate a track from soloing by Command clicking on it's solo button.. the solo button will gray out. Email me an example session (no audio) -- let me see what you're doing.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-19-2005, 02:29 PM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: Solo and Solo in Sends not coupled???

Thanks Rail. You got email.
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 10: mute and solo aren't working. (Solo safe is not on any of the tracks.) charlottewrinch macOS 2 04-14-2012 05:32 PM
Solo-Yellow, Solo Clear-Green Imagine ICON & C|24 1 05-14-2011 04:55 AM
Solo does not use sends? Bill0287 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 02-03-2010 10:22 PM
solo mutes aux/hedphone sends jaimo ICON & C|24 2 04-22-2007 09:48 AM
A question about Aux sends, Midi channels and Solo chrispnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-17-2003 11:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com