Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2006, 05:07 PM
Nils Groth Nils Groth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pacific Rim
Posts: 51
Default your opinion on PRE vs. 96


Hello, I'm building my studio slowly. So far I have a a core card, 192 and a MIDI. I've also baught a PRE which hasn't arrived yet, but here is my question: I have a few rack synths: a Virus XL and a Fantom XR, and I intend to jack them into the PRE instead of a 96. I'm trying to get away with not buying a 96 for the moment. Do you guys see any problem doing things this way or would you really recommend going for the 96 ?

Regards, Nils.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2006, 06:05 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: your opinion on PRE vs. 96

The PRE and the 96I/O are two different interfaces.
The PRE is a preamp and the 96 is a D/A A/D converter.
The Pre will add gain stage to your signal and the 96 will give more I/O to and from PT.
They would work together rather than either/or.

hth
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:48 PM
mjteix mjteix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 185
Default Re: your opinion on PRE vs. 96

I think Nils wants to connect his keyboards/sound modules to the PRE before connecting it to his 192 I/O interface.
I think it's a good idea.
As far as I know the PRE has separate XLR (mic) and 1/4" jacks (line/inst) inputs and they are selectable from the PRE's front panel or directly from ProTools.
So Nils could have all his (16 max.) analog sources connected to the PRE (8 mics on XLRs and 8 line/intruments on jacks) and the 8 analog outputs of the PRE connected to the (8) analog inputs of the 192 I/O.
No need for a 96 I/O yet (unless you need more than 8 simultaneous analog inputs).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2006, 08:00 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: your opinion on PRE vs. 96

Quote:
and I intend to jack them into the PRE instead of a 96.
sorry if i misunderstood.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need your opinion DocMoD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-05-2007 09:43 AM
Need an opinion about going from 6.4 to 7.1 Telepc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-26-2006 07:51 PM
opinion on a mic fhinspectit Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 07-20-2006 09:48 AM
Your opinion on this PC: swix76 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-10-2003 09:50 PM
your opinion harpua6 Tips & Tricks 1 09-03-2002 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com