Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2011, 10:07 AM
lowlights lowlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 305
Default 003 Rack - Alt Mon Output to Headphone Amp?

I have an ALTO 6-channel headphone amp. I've tried running out of Phones 1 and 2 on the front INTO this, which works, but I pick up a slight buzz through the headphone amp jacks when I do this (it's not in the recording).

Could I just jack the two Alt (CR) Monitor Outputs into my headphone amp - would this be a cleaner route - and then switch back and forth when we track (with headphones on)? Thoughts?

I just mix little home projects, so my passive Tannoy Reveals (through an ADCOM GR-535 amplifer) use the main monitor output and I'm happy with that.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2011, 11:04 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,457
Default Re: 003 Rack - Alt Mon Output to Headphone Amp?

From what I can see the inputs on the ALTO are all line level - if you're using a headphone output to go into it that would explain the buzz.

If you use the Monitor outs of the 003R you will need an insert cable - from what I can tell from the manual for the Alto, the Aux and Direct inputs are stereo TRS line level (the Main seems to be mono 1/4" unbalanced).

The TRS end would connect to an Aux or Direct input, while the other end would connect to the L/R outputs of the 003.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2011, 11:31 AM
lowlights lowlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 305
Default Re: 003 Rack - Alt Mon Output to Headphone Amp?

Actually - I think the main inputs (on the back of the ALTO) are mono (balanced TRS though), left and right. I found a picture from the manual.

So - I guess I just need a pair of TRS cables from the ALT MON (left and right) on the 003 into the MAIN INPUTs (left and right) on the back of the ALTO. Bottom of numerated Page 5 of the manual.

pdf of ALTO HPA6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2011, 11:59 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: 003 Rack - Alt Mon Output to Headphone Amp?

According to the Alto manual (available here http://www.directproaudio.com/images...hpa6manual.pdf), you have both XLR and 1/4" TRS balanced inputs.

Why not just feed them from the Analog 1 and 2 outputs on the 003? Using this method you would have the same "mix" as you are getting through your monitors, but it won't be affected by your monitor level control.
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2011, 12:04 PM
lowlights lowlights is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 305
Default Re: 003 Rack - Alt Mon Output to Headphone Amp?

Okay - I like that idea. Leaving the ALT MON output for some future use.

Why - it's so simple and crazy, it just might work! And ... I feel like an idiot. Sometimes the routing possibilities just overwhelm me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No headphone jack output - Meters showing output Hotcrazyfruit Eleven Rack 6 05-06-2012 12:09 PM
Eleven Rack headphone port versus MBOX and other interface headphone ports World Spirit Eleven Rack 3 02-12-2012 11:34 PM
Eleven Rack: Headphone Output Impedance & Amp Output Tech Specs MR290378 Eleven Rack 12 11-29-2011 05:10 PM
LLM no headphone output brinogordon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 03-06-2010 12:08 AM
headphone output? KimSira ICON & C|24 2 01-16-2006 11:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com