Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2007, 06:16 PM
SoundWrangler SoundWrangler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 373
Default Elastic AUDIO, or Elastic TIME?

Which is the correct name? All the latest PDF documentation (dated 11/6) calls it nothing but Elastic Audio (always talks about EA plug-ins, EA-enabled tracks, etc.), just as all the press releases about 7.4 did. Now, suddenly, all the video demos on the Digi site and their promos are calling these features Elastic Time.

Which is correct? Does the documentation have to be updated?

Is Elastic Time an overreaching conceptual framework that will someday be revealed, while Elastic Audio is the proper name for the current implementations?
Huh?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-13-2007, 03:05 PM
nikki-k-again nikki-k-again is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 72
Default Re: Elastic AUDIO, or Elastic TIME?

Yeah- would like to know this as well.
Digi???
__________________
nikki [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
"She's got everything I need...Pharmacy keys..."
(waiting for 2112...again.. [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] )
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-13-2007, 03:11 PM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: Elastic AUDIO, or Elastic TIME?

"Elastic Audio" is the catch-all phrase referred by the app & ref guides for the eventual development of adding real-time pitch manipulation. "Elastic Time" + "Elastic Pitch" = "Elastic Audio".

Sales/marketing briefs currently use "Elastic Time" because that's what 7.4 offers.

Clear as powdered milk, I presume.





-tv
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-13-2007, 03:12 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Elastic AUDIO, or Elastic TIME?

Quote:
for the eventual development of adding real-time pitch manipulation.
Interesting...
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-13-2007, 09:28 PM
nikki-k-again nikki-k-again is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 72
Default Re: Elastic AUDIO, or Elastic TIME?

Quote:
"Elastic Audio" is the catch-all phrase referred by the app & ref guides for the eventual development of adding real-time pitch manipulation. "Elastic Time" + "Elastic Pitch" = "Elastic Audio".

Sales/marketing briefs currently use "Elastic Time" because that's what 7.4 offers.

Clear as powdered milk, I presume.





-tv
WHOA, WHOA, WHOOOOOAAAA!
OK, so is this a "from the horse's mouth" that we have only seen the first half of the full Elastic Audio feature set then?

If so, then could we assume Elastic Pitch will be something along the lines of what we might use, erm, a pitch correction stand alone app (that happens to have a plug-in version as well)? But wthin PT itself? Plus more? (I am afraid to find out what the difference between the HD and LE versions will be...hopefully you guys will see fit to stick "binus" pieces in with MPT and DVT2 then...)
__________________
nikki [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img]
"She's got everything I need...Pharmacy keys..."
(waiting for 2112...again.. [img]/images/graemlins/laugh.gif[/img] )
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-14-2007, 12:21 AM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,550
Default Re: Elastic AUDIO, or Elastic TIME?

...and to make it more clear, some of the current alogos in Elastic Time have a formant parameter...and formants, we lose from pitch shifting.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 HDX crashes every time Elastic Audio is used conrad787 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 01-22-2014 12:26 PM
Render elastic audio alert when not using elastic audio! weird! jjboogie macOS 7 03-26-2012 10:01 PM
Elastic Audio/Time To Get Wet basslik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-06-2010 02:41 PM
Elastic Time is EXCELLENT.. how about Elastic Pitch.. bobo mark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 08-29-2008 11:41 AM
Elastic Time/ Audio? Out of this world!!! SoloHits 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-21-2008 11:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com