Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:25 AM
mustgroove mustgroove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Also AFAIK <edit: not actually the case at all!>

Last edited by mustgroove; 06-18-2019 at 09:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:32 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,060
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
Also AFAIK a perpetual license is truly perpetual - a perpetual license will allow you to run Pro Tools versions that come out even after your renewal plan expires. The latest installer won't be in your Avid account, but if you get it from someone else who does have a current support plan, a perpetual license will still allow you to run it.
NO
100% wrong. Don’t spread misinformation
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:36 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,060
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Why are people thinking you get the cross grade subscription/rental pricing forever with this new plan when moving from perpetual vanilla?

You only get it for the first year the way it is written because you only cross grade once. After that you are on the regular subscription pricing.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:37 AM
mustgroove mustgroove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
NO
100% wrong. Don’t spread misinformation
Is it 100% confirmed that this doesn't work? I remember posts about this when the renewals model was first introduced which said this was possible.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:38 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,850
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Why are people thinking you get the cross grade subscription/rental pricing forever with this new plan when moving from perpetual vanilla?

You only get it for the first year the way it is written because you only cross grade once. After that you are on the regular subscription pricing.
Maybe because what you describe one would give away 599 license for only 100 discount?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:45 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,060
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
Is it 100% confirmed that this doesn't work? I remember posts about this when the renewals model was first introduced which said this was possible.
Yes. Confirmed for years.

This was never possible since Avid started 12. At first they used to swap licenses per year and then they changed the main ilok license to have stored a “last version you can run” date. Go to your ilok, find your ProTools license and look at the details panel. It will tell you.

There are probably 100s of posts explaining this in the forums.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB

Last edited by BScout; 06-18-2019 at 11:04 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:51 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,060
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Maybe because what you describe one would give away 599 license for only 100 discount?
Yup. That’s the goal. One fixed subscriber cost for all their vanilla users (with a penalty if you stop subscribing)

There are going to be a lot of angry customers next year when they realize they were duped. Welcome to Avid: haven’t made the current system transparent and understandable to customers so they make it worse.

Also maybe they should look and see that other subscription plan companies have to offer discounts all the time to add customers and don’t do “penalties.”
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 06-18-2019, 09:54 AM
mustgroove mustgroove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Australia
Posts: 34
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Yes. Confirmed for years.

This was never possible since Avid started 12. At first they used to swap licenses per year and then they changed the main ilok license to have stored a “last version you can run” date. Go to your ilok, find your ProTools license and look at the details panel. It will tell you.

There are probably 100s of posts explaining this is the forums.
Gotcha - have edited my post to remove the incorrect info.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 06-18-2019, 10:03 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teej View Post
Whoa whoa wait a second. On Facebook it still says

"3. Will avid still support Perpetual re-instatement programs?
Avid will continue to offer re-instatements"

This is as reported on pro-tools-expert as well.

Where did you get your quote??
Right here ... Avid’s announcement on the DUC, as linked in the first post in this thread !

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405253

Q) Will avid still support Perpetual re-instatement programs?
We are currently evaluating these programs.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)

Last edited by nigelpry; 06-18-2019 at 10:09 AM. Reason: Quoting the question and answer in the announcement linked in the duc
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 06-18-2019, 10:17 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 61
Default Re: ProTools price adjustments from July 1st.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
Right here ... Avid’s announcement on the DUC, as linked in the first post in this thread !

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405253

Q) Will avid still support Perpetual re-instatement programs?
We are currently evaluating these programs.
Amazing, so we have two different answers publically from Avid on the same day. I have submitted a support ticket asking this question. The Facebook post is still up with the other answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Important Update on Upcoming Creative Tools Price Adjustments | 7.1.19 Avid General Announcements 1 06-27-2019 11:47 AM
Mbox Gain Issues and Protools Issues (Bounce to Disk and Knob/Pot adjustments) Lucky Bastard Getting Started 6 01-16-2014 03:29 PM
Protools 8HD upgrade price? pablotec Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 20 10-08-2008 12:30 PM
Protools HD to "HD II" upgrade price speculation....? N.E.R.D Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-12-2007 05:13 PM
G4 price drop in July? Mike Brosco Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 07-10-2002 11:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com