Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2018, 11:14 AM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

The new Mac Mini looks great. One question with 4 core i3 or 6 core i5 or i7 available, and with the thought of trying to keep costs down, will the i3 support Pro Tools?
__________________
PT 10.3.10, 12.4, Logic Pro 9.1.8 Logic Pro X 10.1, Ableton Live 9, Studio One 3.x DP 9 Sibelius 8.5 OS 10.8.5 Mac Mini with Lion Server 2.0ghz quad I7 16 gbs ram, UAD Apollo Twin . PT Mix Plus PT 6.4.1 TDM Mac OS 10.3.9 G4 450 mhz 1 gb ram, Digi 882/20. And a bunch of hard drives.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2018, 11:56 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,538
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BGMusic View Post
The new Mac Mini looks great. One question with 4 core i3 or 6 core i5 or i7 available, and with the thought of trying to keep costs down, will the i3 support Pro Tools?
It might support PT but you'll be a lot better off with the i7. The problem is more will the OSX that comes on it work with PT? You'll probably be stuck with Mojave which right now isn't considered compatible with PT by Avid.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2018, 12:17 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

It really depends on what you do with PT and how big your sessions are, but in general, the i3 is on the light side of processing power for working with audio.

The i5 with 16GB of RAM would be a better pick as long as your sessions aren't crazy big.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-02-2018, 04:34 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,845
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

Didn't know anyone even made an i3 cpu anylonger hehe

I have a 7 yo PC Laptop demolished in the closet which had an i3 and it was horrifyingly slow and crappy as expected hehe

Doesn't the new Apple comps come with i9 these days and if not then nothing less than i7 for sure.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-02-2018, 05:34 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,918
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

I wouldn't run less than an i7.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-02-2018, 09:39 AM
StratoBobster StratoBobster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Olympia, WA USA
Posts: 50
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

Does anyone have an opinion on how the Mac Mini 6-Core I7 at 3.2 Ghz might compare to the iMac 4-Core at 4.2 Ghz. I've been considering the new Mac Mini as a replacement for my iMac.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-02-2018, 03:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

Re the i3 vs i7 question...i3 is a "budget" cpu and a Pro Tools rig needs "power"
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2018, 05:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,408
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

It all depends on what you want to do.

You can run a few track Pro Tools session with no plugins on just about anything.

My thought process here would be these are not cheap boxes once configured, and the CPU is not upgradeable (soldered to the motherboard) so I'd tend to invest in the CPU to give this computer a long useful life. RAM SO-DIMMs can be upgraded, PCIe/NVMe SSD can be expanded outside the box via Thunderbolt 3, so CPU is the thing that Apple has you by the short and curlies with there.

BUT...

Thermals/cooling are important especially in such a tight packaged box. How well different processors will work in these new Macs will be interesting.

The i-3, i-5, i-7 Core series names are marketing, the details matter. Be careful assuming say an i3 is some lame-ass processor just because they may have been in the past. Current x4 core i3 don't have hyperhtreading, but that may not be that important. They have smaller caches than i7, but how much effect will that have... with fewer cores?? And the four-core i3 clocks at 3.6 GHz and the six-core i7 clocks at up to 3.2 GHz (those thermal constraints). So... oh who really knows.

Still I'd be looking to max out the configs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-03-2018, 10:21 PM
tonepad tonepad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal USA
Posts: 834
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

I have a MAc Mini Server from back a few years that is awesome with its i7. I also have a DIY built i7 PC, again a few years old. My MacPro is a dual Xeon (which is i7 on steriods) OH and my good old MBPro with an i7. ALL of these veteran rigs are running PT 12 vanilla and Ultimate without breaking a sweat. This is a good example of future proofing. Spend some money now and you won't have to later. I have many years left on all of these i7 configs.
__________________
My day job:

Wilson Dyer MPSE
Sound Supervisor: NCIS Los Angeles, CBS Television
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2018, 12:44 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 991
Default Re: New Mac Mini will the 6 core i3 support Pro Tools?

I would tend to agree with Darryl get the fastest CPU you can afford
with the minimum RAM you can then get Crucial Memory for considerably less than what Apple charges.

For example 32 GB from Apple is $600 and from Crucial is $285
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.6 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 11-04-2018 at 01:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12.6.1 Core Audio Support not working with HD i/o (Mac) Electronic1982 General Discussion 2 12-03-2016 11:36 AM
Does Pro Tools 10 HD support the 6 core CPU? Dan Wake Pro Tools 10 9 01-23-2016 11:19 PM
does pro tools MP9 support multi core cpus. ? thecherish@gmail.com Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 05-28-2012 05:25 AM
Pro Tools LE multi-core support mikefatom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 07-22-2008 09:24 PM
Do MacBook support Pro Tools LE 7.1 or 7.3 with Mbox Mini 2? TongWunFung 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 01-20-2008 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com