Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-30-2018, 11:08 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,397
Default Re: Stereo sound ONLY when record is armed.

Ugh the ID22 clearly does separate DAW THRU paths into the DAW. They are just globbed onto physical IO paths into the DAW. That would stop me wanting to buy an ID22. So the session has only one track? No bussing? So you could have a path through the ID22 mixer that puts a signal on DAW Thru onto analog input 1. But from earlier mixer screen shots is looks like you are not doing that. But if you have other tracks in Pro Tools... then worry about those.

And looking again at the earlier screenshots why are going out of Pro Tools into the MAIN MIX in the ID22, (maybe just to use the monitor level control?) but you want to be simplifying things and letting Pro Tools talk to the outputs directly at least while troubleshooting--so set that to DAW THRU.

And one thing to look our for may be clipping (either analog saturation or digital clipping -- and I have no idea how the ID22 mixer is implemented). But watch in Pro Tools and the ID22 mixer that you don't have high levels showing up anywhere.

And here we are, I don't think Dave or I have any real understanding of the sounds you are hearing and suspect there is not much more we can do to help you. So many issues can be caused by hardware mixer setup/operation and just suggest again that you read through the ID22 mixer documentation carefully and make sure you understand that. And play with it until you do, and even if that's not the problem you've learnt a lot of useful stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-30-2018, 12:17 PM
tommytime555 tommytime555 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Stereo sound ONLY when record is armed.

Thanks again, Darryl.

Just to confirm on something you said:

You want to be simplifying things and letting Pro Tools talk to the outputs directly at least while troubleshooting--so set that to DAW THRU.

Are you referring to my iD monitor settings or is this something I need to change in my Pro Tools I/O settings?

Also -- I hooked up my Neumann 103 and for whatever reason it doesn't sound nearly as digital or doubled... So, if you don't see anything ridiculously out of place then I think I'm feeling confident enough to move forward. :)

You've been amazing.

Thank you.

T
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2018, 12:19 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,397
Default Re: Stereo sound ONLY when record is armed.

In the ID22 console mixer settings. You have to get on top of understanding that .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2018, 12:20 PM
tommytime555 tommytime555 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 91
Default Re: Stereo sound ONLY when record is armed.

I agree. I'm on it.... Thanks again.

T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep record armed? lambono 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 05-04-2011 02:41 AM
No sound from mic when armed for record GMP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 29 02-23-2009 07:31 PM
Record armed track leveling dancheung Tips & Tricks 2 03-26-2007 08:39 PM
muting record armed tracks ? pm mastering studio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-25-2005 10:42 AM
why can i record even when rec is armed?????help KemikAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-08-2002 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com