Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2003, 11:22 PM
CRM-114 CRM-114 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 120
Default I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

I am interested in upgrading my recording system, and I would like to know the appropriate steps I need to take and get some questions answered.

First of all, here’s what I’m currently using:
-- Compaq Presario 5000T computer with 384MB of RAM
-- Pro Tools LE 5.1 with Digi 001 hardware

What I would like to do is get a Mac (probably a G4 desktop, since from what I gather Digi 001 is not yet compatible with G5s). And, obviously, I would need to upgrade to Pro Tools LE 6.1.

Here are some questions I have about this upgrade:
-- Is the Digi 001 hardware I have fully supported by a Mac? Would I need to make any changes/upgrades in regards to that hardware?
-- I know I need to upgrade from PTLE 5.1 to 6.1; does the upgrade CD contain both PC and Mac versions of the software? (I ask this just in case I stick with a PC running WinXP)
-- I read something about Macs not supporting floppy disk authorization. Does the PTLE 6.1 software come with D-Verb, and what would I need to do about authorizing that plug-in?
-- Does the ATI Radeon 9000 Pro graphics card support Pro Tools?
-- Is a single 1.25Ghz drive really enough to power 32 audio tracks, a number of which will have plug-ins? I’m open to suggestions on the best Mac I can get for under $2000 (excluding a monitor).
-- Are there any other things I should be aware of in executing this upgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2003, 12:03 AM
Tedmod Tedmod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
Default Re: I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

Yes. No need to upgrade the hardware. just get a new PTLe 6.0.1 from your dealer. install the PTLE MAc OSX version 6.0.1.

Yes. The software upgrade is for MAC and Win XP on separate disks.

PTle uses ilok to authorize old floppy based plug-ins. ilok sold separately though.

ATI Radeon 9000. Yes.

Get the dual 1.25 gHZ G4. It is just super! Add Ram and record to a separate drive.
G5 is out of the question. I believe for now that this mac is the best value for its awesome power. $1599 from the apple store. I got mine from Jand R here in NYC for a little less.

Get O'reilly's book... MAC oSX manual.

Take the plunge. Welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2003, 05:45 AM
CRM-114 CRM-114 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 120
Default Re: I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

When you say record to a separate drive, do you mean an external hard drive? Why wouldn't I just record to the Mac's regular hard drive? I would not be using this computer for anything other than recording.

Thanks for all the answers, by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2003, 06:11 AM
dkrz dkrz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC area (USA)
Posts: 1,045
Default Re: I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

Quote:
Get the dual 1.25 gHZ G4. It is just super!
I second that!!

Quote:
When you say record to a separate drive, do you mean an external hard drive? Why wouldn't I just record to the Mac's regular hard drive? I would not be using this computer for anything other than recording.

Thanks for all the answers, by the way.
This is what Digidesign recommends for best performance on all LE or TDM/HD based systems. Mac or PC.

Copied and pasted from the PT reference guide:
Quote:
Although Pro Tools will let you record to
your system drive, this is generally not recommended.
You should record to system
drives only when necessary—for example, if
your computer system has just one hard
drive, or it your other hard drives are completely
out of space.



dk
-------------------
Dual 1.25GHz FW800 / 512MB ram
OS10.2.8
PTLE 6.1.1 - DIGI 001
100GB OWC Firewire (Oxford 911) Audio HD
DigTranslator 2
McDSP Analog Channel
Waves Native Power Pack - v4
__________________
www.dpkmusic.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2003, 07:43 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

Quote:
What I would like to do is get a Mac (probably a G4 desktop, since from what I gather Digi 001 is not yet compatible with G5s). And, obviously, I would need to upgrade to Pro Tools LE 6.1.
G-5's will not run the 001 due to incompatibilities with pci card. You do not need to upgrade to PT6 provided you get a Mac that is dual boot and will run OS9.


Quote:
Is the Digi 001 hardware I have fully supported by a Mac? Would I need to make any changes/upgrades in regards to that hardware?
Yes, any G-4 will run the 001, you'll need to make not changes or buy anything additional to use the 001.

[/QUOTE]

Quote:
I know I need to upgrade from PTLE 5.1 to 6.1; does the upgrade CD contain both PC and Mac versions of the software? (I ask this just in case I stick with a PC running WinXP)
You were misinformed. You do not need to upgrade to PT6 to run on a Mac, provided (as previously stated) you get a machine that is OS9 compatible)

Quote:
I read something about Macs not supporting floppy disk authorization. Does the PTLE 6.1 software come with D-Verb, and what would I need to do about authorizing that plug-in?
Macs do not come with a floppy drive, but if you absolutely must have one, you can get one for around $25-50 that connects via USB.

Quote:
Does the ATI Radeon 9000 Pro graphics card support Pro Tools?
Sorry, can't answer this one...

Quote:
Is a single 1.25Ghz drive really enough to power 32 audio tracks, a number of which will have plug-ins? I’m open to suggestions on the best Mac I can get for under $2000 (excluding a monitor).
Davec results on various Macs

FWIW, we run a dual 1Ghz G-4 Quicksilver, and have no problems running 32 tracks of audio with a respectable amount of plugins. Since we are running PT5.2.1 on OS9, the second processor is not a factor...PT5.2.1 only uses one of them. You shoul d have no problems on a single 1.25ghz machine, however, I'd recommend getting a dual processor. Eventually you'll want to upgrade to OSX.

Quote:
Are there any other things I should be aware of in executing this upgrade?
A copy of the latest version of The Mac Bible will provide you with the msot insight on any mac. This hefty (well over 1000 pages) reference book will give you info on everything you mac does and says, troubleshooting, tweaking tips, and is well worth the cost, around $50 I think.

A second drive internally on a G-4 is a snap, and Apple provides online instructions for installation.

Most G-4's can actually have 3 internal HDD before you need to add add'l hardware. (the third drive installs under the CD/DVD drive) All G-4's have firewire, so connecting or using a firewire drive is also a simple process. Macs can read a PC formatted drive without any additional software, it's simply a desing in the OS.

FWIW, our G-4 has 3 internal drives, 1-80gb system drive, partitioned 5gb(OS9)5gb(OSX)70gb(storage) and 2-120gb drives for audio, all WD Caviars. We also use two Firedocks for additional storage and archiving, as well as recording and editing sessions.

I'd highly recommend a model with a superdrive. The ability to burn DVD format is very useful for archiving projects.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2003, 04:17 PM
CRM-114 CRM-114 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 120
Default Re: I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

Does anyone know how long it might be before PT is compatible with the G5?

If it would be relatively soon (say, in the next six to nine months), I'd prefer to wait and just get a G5. That way, I'd have the top-of-the line computer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2003, 04:35 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

While not officially authorized, some have gotten the 002 running on G-5's. However, the G-5 is very new technology, high priced, and for PTle, a good dual processor G-4 will leet you take the application to the max now. they are proven stable and reliable. IMHO you're better off with a good G-4 for quite awhile yet.

I doubt if the G-5 will ever run the 001, as it's on msot likely on it's way out, being replaced by the 002R.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2003, 03:19 PM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: I\'m thinking of ditching my PC

The 001 will never run on the G5, it doesn't even fit in the slots. Check digi's compat page.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ditching PT 10 DonaldM Pro Tools 11 16 12-27-2013 11:32 AM
Ditching my amp for 11R? petmar Eleven Rack 11 10-24-2011 11:58 PM
Ditching Pro Tools Jon Jo Wilson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 87 04-21-2010 06:55 AM
Ditching the MOJO for MacPro soundfx Post - Surround - Video 5 05-20-2007 04:16 AM
Ditching Prefs on a PC? nightshadecrisis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-03-2005 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com