Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-14-2017, 01:15 AM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 213
Default Adding a Dock

After a million years of recording and mixing with a trackball, i'm looking at buying an S3. A lot of people seem to think the Dock greatly enhances the S3's usefulness. Part of the reason I want the S3 is that I want to spend LESS time looking at a screen, and in all the Dock videos, it's largely about incorporating an iPad. Beyond that, it's more knobs and a fader. Aside from dedicated transport controls (and can't i still use my qwerty/numeric keyboard for that?)....what does the Dock add to the S3?
Thanks,
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-14-2017, 11:09 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,814
Default Re: Adding a Dock

If you have yet to buy either, you might start with the DOCK first. Its much cheaper and you may decide its all you need after working with it a while(old habits die hard for all of this). And yes, you still can use the keyboard for transport(in addition to transport on the DOCK)

Re the trackball, to each their own, but I hate them for Pro Tools and much prefer a fairly standard mouse(with right-click).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-14-2017, 03:23 PM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Adding a Dock

Gravitating toward the S3 because as I really want to minimize screen gazing, and it seems the dock is all about adding an iPad; another screen. The thing I am wondering is: what does the Dock add to the S3 that makes it so essential?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2017, 05:19 PM
rmprice rmprice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding a Dock

I demo'd an S3 and dock last week. The EQ layout on the dock felt more intuitive than the spill on the S3. The dock also gives you soft keys that are easily assignable to any menu function. If I had to choose between just an S3 or a dock, I'd take the dock. Both together feels just as functional as an S6, minus some knobs.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2017, 11:04 AM
blastula blastula is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: Adding a Dock

Thanks rmprice.
Dock over S3. That's a curveball!
Curious to know: while you were checking out the Dock, did you find you were working much with the iPad? I ask because I really don't like the idea of having to make a lot of moves on a touchpad. Thanx!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2017, 07:34 PM
rmprice rmprice is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Adding a Dock

All of the soft keys on the ipad correlate to physical buttons on the dock below the iPad. The only thing I had to click on the ipad is the select button to switch between the Freq and Q on the Eq. IF you have an ipad the app is free so you can see what you have to click on otherwise (switching between inserts and views)

Not sure where you are, but if you can, I'd recommend asking a dealer for a demo of both and spend an hour with them, it changed my view. I'm not saying the dock or the S3 are perfect, but after mixing on an S6, which like it or not is the only option now, I was impressed with the price.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-01-2017, 11:31 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,111
Default Re: Adding a Dock

Once you get the hang of tweaking plug-ins and switching automation modes on the Dock, you'll wonder how you ever got any work done before you had it. I put mine in a Pelican case and take it everywhere. And yes, Dock before S3 in my opinion.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EuCon reliability since adding Dock LukeHoward Pro Tools | Dock 0 12-04-2016 03:40 PM
Suggestion: Users of S3&Dock together: dock fader becomes 5th VCA master fader bassmagnetic Pro Tools | Dock 0 10-01-2016 08:20 AM
OWC's TB2 dock YYR123 General Discussion 3 11-19-2014 06:39 AM
T20 dock??? babilonburning 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-18-2000 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com