Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-26-2017, 04:02 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Thank you, ive tried the reverse cymbal one before but never seemed to get it to sound/sit right in the mix can sometimes sound a bit harsh. Its the noise rise that i'm after i will try these tonight and report back. Thank you for your help
Sure, it can be harsh, but that's where an EQ (and sometimes distortion) will help. Keep at it.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-26-2017, 04:08 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,854
Default Re: How to make a rise

Raoul,

Every VI with a reputable name has many many rises and options.

If you don't get this the way you want it let me know and link to a example and I can make a few rises with our arsenal of synths and VI to your liking
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-26-2017, 05:15 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Raoul,

Every VI with a reputable name has many many rises and options.

If you don't get this the way you want it let me know and link to a example and I can make a few rises with our arsenal of synths and VI to your liking
Awesome thats great thank you
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-27-2017, 03:09 PM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: How to make a rise

Thank you everyone who chimed in on this thread I managed to create what I wanted with all you tips and advice :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-27-2017, 07:20 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,261
Default Re: How to make a rise

Great you got it sorted out Raoul, maybe this can help too
https://youtu.be/4cSL27qnJaY
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-02-2017, 04:40 AM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
Hi guys I'm after making a rise before a chorus in a song, kind of what they use in EDM. Can anyone help me do this the quickest and easiest way please

A big thank you in advance

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Excellent advise all round, but if you use risers often, you can try 'The Riser' by Air Music Technology, which has loads of rises and falls that you can modify to taste.

http://www.airmusictech.com/product/...r#.WQhsVSJ0Rpg

I use risers and transitions quite often, and more often than not I'll have 3 or 4 tracks for my riser containing a combination of some of these elements: synth sweeps, noise sweeps, manipulated cymbal swells, reverse cymbals, reverse reverb, sometimes 2 different risers from Riser...you get the picture. It's up to your creativity to create suitable risers for any given song. In combination with drum arrangements etc you can achieve very dramatic results with a little work.

Best of luck, hope this helps...
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-02-2017, 04:59 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,012
Default Re: How to make a rise

I might try the trial version, do you no what the limitations are ??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-02-2017, 06:09 AM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,033
Default Re: How to make a rise

You can also use one of the many crash sounds from a Xpand2! kit or Boom, either bounce, commit or bus it to a audio track and then use the audio suite reverse plugin.

To me it's usually the end of the reverse crash that might sound harsh depending on what crash sound you use. To de-harsh it you can try rolling off some high-end at the end of the reverse crash with the built in eq in pro tools. Maby from 7 or 8 k and above.
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-02-2017, 07:48 AM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 576
Default Re: How to make a rise

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raoul23 View Post
I might try the trial version, do you no what the limitations are ??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I've forgotten, but you can visit the site and download the trial.
__________________
X99 | i7 5820 | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256HAFV-000H7 SSD 256GB | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT12.8.1 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-02-2017, 08:16 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,777
Default Re: How to make a rise

I always bussed the cymbal through a large reverb and or maybe a bit of tempo matched delay, recorded then reversed it, placed it where it goes and automated the volume swell. That works far better than adding the verb after the reverse in my experience. Sometimes I have to do it a few times to get the verb tail how I want it.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bass Rise? domdompompom Pro Tools 12 1 10-27-2016 03:16 AM
FS: Slate Digital plugins - NI Rise and Hit PeterKorcek Buy & Sell 5 01-23-2016 08:46 AM
WOW this is the Coolest Ever!!! Roli Rise Southsidemusic General Discussion 3 12-20-2015 06:18 AM
Dramatic pitch rise effect - how to?? phillyt2k Pro Tools 10 9 04-28-2013 11:35 AM
CPU and System Levels rise after vocals end... Target Earth Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-08-2002 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com