Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 02-28-2017, 06:00 PM
Norrie's Avatar
Norrie Norrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 116
Default Re: PT Control Tracks View & VCA Spill is now here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
it`s not your fingers. I`ve got very thin fingers and am still struggling with that after a year. It`s just that those buttons are placed in the worst possible location imaginable.
I really can't understand any of your issues I'm not experiencing anything like this.
It's seems like you have some personal vendetta against Avid surfaces as a whole.

The general consensus everywhere on multiple forums and Facebook groups is that the Avid surfaces be it The Artist, S3 or S6 are all highly sought after and used daily by many professionals with no serious complaints like anything there's going to be bugs and not everything will please everyone.

People are buying the controller people are loving them and they are constantly being improved it's win win in my book I can't fault the S3 and Dock combo for my work flow at all it's absolutely fantastic!

Unfortunately in this situation as seeing your posts not only here but on other media platforms I don't think anything would please you.
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity -- I enjoy every minute of it !

Avid S3
Artist Transport
Pro Tools HD 12
UAD Apollo 8P
Audient ASP 880
Mac Pro TrashCan
3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5, 32GB ram
Adams A77x
UAD Quad Thunderbolt Satellite
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-06-2017, 01:49 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 107
Default Re: PT Control Tracks View & VCA Spill is now here!

First of, at this point I'm having good reasons to be hopeful things might get working anytime soon.
Apart from that, it'`s not that I'm having anything against anyone at all. The thing is I spent good money on an s3 and at this point it isn`t even close to working. I'm not gonna repeat all the issues here, but if you're happy with the s3 as it currently is, you probably haven`t tried it.
As for it being popular in demand, I dare bet you if you would send all those potential clients an S3, as well as my list of things that aren`t working, so they can see for themselves if all my claims are right, at least 90% of them will no longer be interested. (been there, done that, many times)

Yes, I've been ranting a lot about this (as I would if I would buy a brand new car and find out afterwards it can only turn left). On the other hand I've also been giving Avid as much information on this as possible and I`'ve tried to helpful to them to the best of my ability.

For now we can debate endlessly whether the s3 in its current condition is an ok controller. Imo it is not, according to you is. Maybe were both right, depending on what we expect from a 5k console.
All I can say to people interested in buying one is: read everything on the s3 here on the duc and be your own judge whether the issues mentioned here would hinder you. And if you find yourself doubt whether some claims are correct: go find a dealer and try it out.

In the end I can only hope Avid is serious about this, as the s3 has plenty of potential to become an absolute killer console if they set things right.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-06-2017, 07:33 AM
bobbyguelz bobbyguelz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: PT Control Tracks View & VCA Spill is now here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by yoerik roevens View Post
First of, at this point I'm having good reasons to be hopeful things might get working anytime soon.
Apart from that, it'`s not that I'm having anything against anyone at all. The thing is I spent good money on an s3 and at this point it isn`t even close to working. I'm not gonna repeat all the issues here, but if you're happy with the s3 as it currently is, you probably haven`t tried it.
As for it being popular in demand, I dare bet you if you would send all those potential clients an S3, as well as my list of things that aren`t working, so they can see for themselves if all my claims are right, at least 90% of them will no longer be interested. (been there, done that, many times)

Yes, I've been ranting a lot about this (as I would if I would buy a brand new car and find out afterwards it can only turn left). On the other hand I've also been giving Avid as much information on this as possible and I`'ve tried to helpful to them to the best of my ability.

For now we can debate endlessly whether the s3 in its current condition is an ok controller. Imo it is not, according to you is. Maybe were both right, depending on what we expect from a 5k console.
All I can say to people interested in buying one is: read everything on the s3 here on the duc and be your own judge whether the issues mentioned here would hinder you. And if you find yourself doubt whether some claims are correct: go find a dealer and try it out.

In the end I can only hope Avid is serious about this, as the s3 has plenty of potential to become an absolute killer console if they set things right.


ABSOLUTELY agree with you. Anyone that thinks this controller is fully functional is in denial of its massive issues. Eucon alone is horrid. After setting things up per Avids lead, my controllers disconnect and reconnect every 5-10 min without fail... screwing up the mixing process every time. Button functionally especially with the Dock is wretched... having to double or triple tap buttons to finally get them to work. Touch strips also have to be tapped multiple times to get them working right... especially the dock.

PT follows control surface sucks... when you enter vca master mode the PT window just jumps to the top so you then would have to mix blind.

The s3 lacks the functionality of older avidhardware like the command 8 or d commands or icon in terms of even plugin focus.

The fact of the matter is... if you're in music... the surface will probabaly be okay for you but especially if you're in post, my goodness it is a bad non intuitive and slow and unreliable experience.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-06-2017, 02:08 AM
yoerik roevens yoerik roevens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lochristi
Posts: 107
Default Re: PT Control Tracks View & VCA Spill is now here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko View Post
Tom, do you have any practical advice on how to overcome problem with SEL button being too close to the adjacent faders? Any tips on how users can safely double press Select button without accidental overwriting automation of those faders? I used an S3L and I enjoyed the ability to use channel encoders as a replacement for Select buttons.
One solution to make the VCA spill feature far more ergonomical might be allowing us to spill a VCA group by single-tapping the 'in' buttons (or 'sel') next to the encoder of the corresponding VCA fader. After all, unless I'm missing something, they have no function at all on a VCA channel.

If Avid would be kind enough to allow/implement this (or something similar), that would save us from this clumsy double-tapping those sel buttons in between the faders and accidentaly write automation to them.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-15-2017, 07:24 AM
Basket Basket is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11
Default Re: PT Control Tracks View & VCA Spill is now here!

We need vca-spill from the Ipad app, follow track for console 1, and stop the madness for what happens to the screen when you spill a vca.. These 3 things, and many will buy the S3 including myself.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-18-2017, 09:59 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 2,122
Default Re: PT Control Tracks View & VCA Spill is now here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyguelz View Post
After setting things up per Avids lead, my controllers disconnect and reconnect every 5-10 min without fail... screwing up the mixing process every time.
Bob, are you still having these issues with v3.6 ? I would love to help get you sorted if so.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-21-2017, 08:15 AM
Basket Basket is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 11
Default Re: PT Control Tracks View & VCA Spill is now here!

Regarding VCA spill from the Ipad app. It should be pretty easy to implement, and here is my suggestion:

- When VCA's are chosen on the app, you can see all the VCA's and it should just be a one - touch on the chosen VCA, and then it should spill on the S3. Right now, nothing happens when you touch a VCA, so it won't interfere with anything.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fine control disables vca spill? Karel Noon VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 03-18-2015 09:36 AM
can you spill the playlist in the control surface????? DHG MUSIC Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-30-2008 08:06 AM
VCA spill , ala D control on a command 8? cajonezzz ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 0 09-28-2007 12:02 AM
spill from analog outs to record tracks (when rec) bluerockgod Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-20-2006 09:04 PM
Mbox spill from analog out to record tracks bluerockgod 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-19-2006 05:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com