Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-26-2015, 08:54 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Actually, this is a scam. There is no upgrades from HD7 or 8 to HD11. It does not exist. There is only HD7 or 8 to HD10, which does not include HD11.

Therefore there will be no support plan or free upgrade to HD12, because that only comes with an upgrade to HD11, which this does not include.

What you could do is buy the upgrade from HD7 or 8 to HD10, then buy the upgrade from HD10 to HD11, and that will include the support plan and free upgrades. But that is spending money twice, and there may be better alternatives.
You should really check your facts BEFORE posting the WRONG information
Avid sells them here
https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...00&&store=shop
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-26-2015, 09:57 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 737
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by mblack View Post
Scam ??? oh dear ... all one needs to hear... so this one is a scam ?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Avid-Digid...item339e6c1209
No scam! I bought all my HD Accel cards from Gary, he's as straight as they come. This is just a 10/11 HD license and if it can be registered to your account you can upgrade it provided you pay the $599 for the support plan. By the way, the HD Native card started with HD 8.5 and it can utilize HD 11, so there are different upgrades out there.
__________________
HD Native Thunderbolt
HD6 Accel in Magma PE6R4 Expansion Chassis
PT HD 10, 11, 12, Ultimate 2018, 2019
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Vienna Ensemble Pro 7
Icon D-Command

HD Omni
192 Analog I/O 8 in/8 out/Digtal I/O
192 Analog I/O 8 in/Digital I/O
Two 192 Digital I/O
Apogee Rosetta 800, AD16X & DA16X (All wth X-HD cards)
Antelope Zen Studio+ Thunderbolt

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.3

Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.5 Mojave

GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
Intel Core i7-4790K 4.4 GHz
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 760 Video Card
OS X 10.13.6 High Sierra & Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
B&W 604 s2
800W 15" Ported Subs
McIntosh MC-7106 Bridged ~ B&W
Hafler P7000 "Diablo" ~ Subs
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-26-2015, 10:17 PM
longname longname is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 120
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
Well, if it's not a scam then the seller is misinformed, or it's false advertising.

The description alone sounds confusing.

Let me repeat what I stated in my previous post:

The upgrade from HD7 or HD8 does not include HD11!

It only upgrades you to HD10. Yes, this is different from all other upgrades, and Avid has designed it that way for a reason. Most people on HD7 or HD8 are on TDM systems, and TDM systems will not work with HD11, so Avid has designed this to not include HD11 so as not to mislead people.

If you don't believe me, you can read Avid's own description of the upgrade posted in the Avid store:

"Please note: These items DO NOT include a free copy of Pro Tools 11 HD. If you are using Pro Tools HD 8 or lower, you will need to upgrade your Legacy HD core systems by purchasing a hardware exchange from an authorized Avid dealer. These will include a copy of Pro Tools HD 11."

And here is the link to the page:

https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...00&&store=shop

And in the various software choices you can see that all other software options list the support plan and upgrades in the title, but the HD7/HD8 upgrade does not:

https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__Products...AA&&store=shop


So I reiterate once again, you will not get HD11, nor will you get the support plan and upgrades.

If this seller somehow has access to some special upgrade not available to the general public, than he should make that much more clear. I'm giving him the benefit of the doubt that maybe he is misinformed. But that's a lot of money to be misinformed with.
Hey! This is 2015 already. This is not a scam, but if it was you could easily get back your money. As a seller on both Ebay and Amazon, I see that Ebay nowadays is so much harder to cheat even harder than Amazon. You buy with confident, but we sell with fear. Sometimes you lost big money for nothing. Luckily not that many cheating buyers in the US. I sold 700 orders per month, but just few of them had problems. You have 45 days to file a claim and 99.99% of the time you will get your money back if there was a problem with your order or listing.

And I think you are misinformation. Do research before judging anything. It might not affect you, but it will for another.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-27-2015, 12:02 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,824
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugarnutz View Post
By the way, the HD Native card started with HD 8.5 and it can utilize HD 11, so there are different upgrades out there.
HDN was released just before PT9 launch so yes it initially shipped with 8.5 special version; however, all such customers received a free PT9 upgrade so Avid can say that all HDN customers are at PT9 or later already.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-27-2015, 07:49 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
You should really check your facts BEFORE posting the WRONG information
Avid sells them here
https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...00&&store=shop
YOU should check YOUR facts before YOU post the wrong information. The very page you linked to is the very same one that I linked to, which prominently states that HD11 is NOT included.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-27-2015, 07:51 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sugarnutz View Post
No scam! I bought all my HD Accel cards from Gary, he's as straight as they come. This is just a 10/11 HD license and if it can be registered to your account you can upgrade it provided you pay the $599 for the support plan. By the way, the HD Native card started with HD 8.5 and it can utilize HD 11, so there are different upgrades out there.
I believe you had a great experience. Regarding HD Native, no one on the planet who bought HD Native was stuck with 8.5. They were all eligible for the free upgrade to HD9. That is what entitles them to go to HD11. The fact still stands that there is no direct upgrade from HD7 or HD8 to HD11.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-27-2015, 07:57 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by longname View Post
Hey! This is 2015 already. This is not a scam, but if it was you could easily get back your money. As a seller on both Ebay and Amazon, I see that Ebay nowadays is so much harder to cheat even harder than Amazon. You buy with confident, but we sell with fear. Sometimes you lost big money for nothing. Luckily not that many cheating buyers in the US. I sold 700 orders per month, but just few of them had problems. You have 45 days to file a claim and 99.99% of the time you will get your money back if there was a problem with your order or listing.

And I think you are misinformation. Do research before judging anything. It might not affect you, but it will for another.

Perhaps I should have waited before calling it a scam, but based on the existing facts, it does seem at very least inaccurate.


I just now noticed that your Ebay link is in the UK. It may be possible that Avid has different policies for its overseas customers vs. the U.S.

The way your ad is worded, it appears to be an upgrade from HD7 or HD8. If that is the case, the only upgrade that I know of that is available is an upgrade to HD10. And I have linked to the page that states that upgrades to HD10 from HD7 or HD8 do not come with HD11.

Is there an upgrade different from this that is sold in the UK? It may be possible. I'm trying to get clarification on exactly what this upgrade is.

It is very easy for sellers to wrongly assume that this upgrade from HD7/HD8 to HD10 comes with HD11, because all the other HD upgrades do.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-27-2015, 08:31 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

After thinking about this, it dawned on me that there's only one thing this could be, and it's not sold separately by Avid: the seller (or someone else) has upgraded a TDM or HDN system to an HDX system, and then split out the hardware from the software activation to sell separately. That's the only scenario that might have this kind of upgrade (I do know that these hardware trade-in deals to HDX have an upgrade license rather than a new license).

If that's the case, then it would be a legit upgrade, though it would fall outside of Avid's dealer policies. And that's not available to the general public unless they were to do that same actual hardware trade-in.

If it's not that, then I don't know what else it would be.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-27-2015, 10:25 AM
mblack mblack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 66
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Hi guys,

I bought it !

It is Legit phew ... I got HD11 & HD10 upgrade on my ilok now.

The seller was really cool, had a chat on Skype and did it all on the spot!

So thanks for the warning and i would do the same ... in this instance, you were misinformed the upgrade is from 7-HD11 .

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-27-2015, 11:31 AM
longname longname is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 120
Default Re: Upgrading from 8 to 11HD on ebay

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
YOU should check YOUR facts before YOU post the wrong information. The very page you linked to is the very same one that I linked to, which prominently states that HD11 is NOT included.
You have no clue what you are saying. Read my post again until you can understand it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does upgrading to 11HD from 10+CPTK mean surrendering the latter? EricWillhelm Pro Tools 11 3 12-19-2014 05:24 AM
Upgrade from PT 10HD to PT 11HD? (bought 10HD on eBay) Concept Chelia Pro Tools 10 7 09-12-2014 04:01 AM
Upgrading from 9HD to 10HD/11HD simonyeah Pro Tools 11 6 09-30-2013 02:10 PM
Buying PT10HD/11HD AC versus Crossgrading CPTK to 11HD CPTK Pro Tools 11 2 07-01-2013 05:00 PM
upgrading to HD questions and ebay redchair Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 10-21-2009 10:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com