Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-20-2013, 01:19 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,056
Default Ditching PT 10

Like most of you that have gone to PT 11, I started with PT 10.3.5 and PT 11 installed. With PTIEP 2.0 having finally come out in October, I've found I've not had any real reason for going back to 10 for anything. The few wrapped VST's plugins I used I can host in Blue Cats plug and the rest in Reaper.

Is there any reason I should not uninstall PT10 at this point? I haven't opened it in over 2 months anyways!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-20-2013, 02:00 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,207
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Like most of you that have gone to PT 11, I started with PT 10.3.5 and PT 11 installed. With PTIEP 2.0 having finally come out in October, I've found I've not had any real reason for going back to 10 for anything. The few wrapped VST's plugins I used I can host in Blue Cats plug and the rest in Reaper.

Is there any reason I should not uninstall PT10 at this point? I haven't opened it in over 2 months anyways!
Cool, if you're sure you won't need any RTAS plugins there's no reason to keep it. I have too many old sessions that use plugins that aren't available in PT11 so I'm keeping both in definitely. You could always reinstall PT10 if you needed to.
__________________
Help Us Help You



Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS High Sierra Version 10.13.6
Pro Tools HD 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-21-2013, 06:45 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,056
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwsand View Post
Cool, if you're sure you won't need any RTAS plugins there's no reason to keep it. I have too many old sessions that use plugins that aren't available in PT11 so I'm keeping both in definitely. You could always reinstall PT10 if you needed to.
All but a couple of the RTAS plugs I used on earlier sessions have been ported to AAX. One is Sound Toys Little Microshift and I forget the other at the moment. I don't think I have anything in the "I can't live without this plug" category that is RTAS only. And like you said, I can always reinstall if needed.

I think its time to free up some disk space!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-21-2013, 10:15 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

I can't even load PT 10 any more 10 tuns out of RAM loading up the plug-ins at startup without even opening session. I'm now stuck on PT11
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-21-2013, 10:19 AM
Touchwood Studios Touchwood Studios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 868
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
One is Sound Toys Little Microshift and I forget the other at the moment.
I have been using this in PT 11 for a while now - you need to get the updater
Little MicroShift 1.3.1 - AU/AAX (32/64-bit)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-21-2013, 10:21 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,538
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by roberts View Post
I can't even load PT 10 any more 10 tuns out of RAM loading up the plug-ins at startup without even opening session. I'm now stuck on PT11
And it doesn't complete it at the next launch? What happens when you try again?

This has crept up during this time of the co-install where PT is doing a lot more scanning (RTAS, TDM, AAX) during the initial boot. Once it gets through it once, it's all good from there on. At least that's been my experience.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-21-2013, 12:21 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,322
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Moving the RTAS plug-ins that duplicate AAX plug-ins to the unused folder helped me a lot with this.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-21-2013, 12:53 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,056
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchwood Studios View Post
I have been using this in PT 11 for a while now - you need to get the updater
Little MicroShift 1.3.1 - AU/AAX (32/64-bit)
Really? I didn't know there was one. I was told they weren't updating this one to AAX 64! I will check on that...thanks!
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2013, 12:56 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,056
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by Touchwood Studios View Post
I have been using this in PT 11 for a while now - you need to get the updater
Little MicroShift 1.3.1 - AU/AAX (32/64-bit)
I just checked on this and the webpage says its not available. Also, it looks the AAX version was for Mac only. I'm on Win-7.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-21-2013, 05:00 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,863
Default Re: Ditching PT 10

Hi Donald

I just checked our account on this link and it works fine.

There are new AAX64 bit installers available for almost all their plugins for Mac but a more dire find for Windows users Still only RTAS and AU/VST in our Account ..

Read about windows support here : http://support.soundtoys.com/custome...s-up-with-aax-


Best Wishes
Chris
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ditching my amp for 11R? petmar Eleven Rack 11 10-24-2011 11:58 PM
Ditching Pro Tools Jon Jo Wilson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 87 04-21-2010 06:55 AM
Ditching Prefs on a PC? nightshadecrisis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-03-2005 11:25 PM
I'm thinking of ditching my PC CRM-114 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-24-2003 03:19 PM
OT:I need help ditching a demo program Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-25-2003 04:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com