Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2013, 12:41 PM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Recording Levels in a DAW

I know this topic has been discussed to death but I made a tutorial video using the new metering options (calibration) in Pro Tools 11 and really wanted to get the opinions from others on this method and workflow.

You can watch this video for free on the link from this page.

Pro Tools 11 Tips & Tricks - Comprehensive Video Tutorials for Pro Tools 11

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2013, 12:17 AM
Mark Ziebarth Mark Ziebarth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 666
Default Re: Recording Levels in a DAW

Hi Kenny,
thanks for this video. I'm still on PT 10 and didn't know much about those new metering options. Now I know. But I think your video could lead to a misunderstanding: In a standard audio recording the fader only sets the monitor level not the recording level. Maybe you can add a sentence about that? Or are all your viewers experienced enough to know?
Don't get me wrong I appreciated it very much like many of your other tutorials.

Best

Mark
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 3.66 GHz six Cores, HD Native, 192 I/O, Avid Dock, Artist Mix and Pro Tools Ultimate
Mac Pro 2008, RME Fireface, Pro Tools 12, Euphonix MC Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2013, 09:40 AM
Kenny Gioia Kenny Gioia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: New York, NY USA
Posts: 3,003
Default Re: Recording Levels in a DAW

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Ziebarth View Post
Hi Kenny,
thanks for this video. I'm still on PT 10 and didn't know much about those new metering options. Now I know. But I think your video could lead to a misunderstanding: In a standard audio recording the fader only sets the monitor level not the recording level. Maybe you can add a sentence about that? Or are all your viewers experienced enough to know?
Don't get me wrong I appreciated it very much like many of your other tutorials.

Best

Mark
The fader I'm moving is the send for the recording. So it is not for monitoring. Perhaps I wasn't clear on that.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Recording Levels spaceman Tips & Tricks 104 11-26-2011 06:53 PM
Recording Levels ahanslik 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 04-15-2010 12:36 AM
Recording levels MarkPresti 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 31 05-31-2004 07:48 PM
recording levels Graeme Oxby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 01-25-2003 12:06 AM
Recording levels nickair Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-23-2000 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com