Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2011, 06:48 PM
bimple bimple is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Pro TOols playback is OK, system sounds and other sounds won't play

I have Pro Tools 9, a Digi 002, and am using windows 7 64 bit.

Today in the studio a strange thing happened. When I booted the machine I didn't hear any system sounds, such as a startup sound, and audio files played in media player and wavelab don't output any sound on playback, however Pro Tools plays back just fine. I have rebooted several times, unplugged, replugged wires, etc. to no avail, and I am stumped.

Any ideas on how to address this or troubleshoot the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2011, 05:14 PM
BillDog793 BillDog793 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orange County/Los Angeles
Posts: 158
Default Re: Pro TOols playback is OK, system sounds and other sounds won't play

Since ProTools is working fine, it could be a problem with Windows. In the control panel, what is the default sound card? Is it a PT driver?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone figure out how to play system sounds through HD Omni? agershon Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 46 05-09-2018 11:24 PM
Mbox 3 - No Playback or System Sounds jackmanndxb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 03-06-2013 01:55 PM
System sounds don't play thru Mbox2 Pro in W7 Pro w/ PT 8.0.5 le scott_nikki1216 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-28-2011 02:11 PM
How To Play VST Sounds On Pro Tools Keyboard? Aedryan Methyus Virtual Instruments 31 07-12-2006 08:29 AM
can't play XP system sounds or iTunes thru Mbox Bassman3141 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-28-2005 04:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com