Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2011, 11:43 AM
travgei travgei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: maumee
Posts: 30
Default Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

I am trying to find a laptop that will run pro tools smoothly. Right now i am looking at an HP Pavilion dv6t (http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/sh...ce/dv6t_series). I would customize it to an intel i5 processor, with 6 GB or ram and a 500 GB 7200 rpm Hard Drive.
Or I am looking at a similar HP (http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/sh...ce/dv7t_series).
On this one I can customize the computer to have dual hard drives ( two-500 GB 7200 HD).

I will probably get the m audio fast track for the laptop, to basically "unlock" m-powered and do some simple recording.

I should mention that I already have pro tools running on a desktop computer and I am looking for a laptop so I can take pro tools with me. I have pro tools m-powered 8.


Any help I could get trying to find a good laptop in a midrange price would be helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2011, 03:02 PM
travgei travgei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: maumee
Posts: 30
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

Any takers that could tell me what I need in a laptop to rune smoothly?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-10-2011, 07:38 PM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

They say that you should record to a separate drive, so I'd say either get the first one along with an external drive or the second and dedicate one of those drives to recording.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2011, 07:49 PM
travgei travgei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: maumee
Posts: 30
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

I read that pro tools doesnt officially support external usb drives. But does it still run fine with a usb drive?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-10-2011, 08:16 PM
AliGlenUig AliGlenUig is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 40
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

USB isn't fast enough to record to [which is what I meant].
Firewire or eSATA connections should be fast enough to record to an external drive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-10-2011, 08:50 PM
travgei travgei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: maumee
Posts: 30
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

I will probably get the one laptop with 2 internal drives and dedicate one to audio. Is it ok to transfer pro tools files with a flash drive from my desktop(my main computer to the laptops hard drive so I can mix on the go. Would this affect the audio in any way?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-11-2011, 01:11 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

Quote:
Originally Posted by travgei View Post
Is it ok to transfer pro tools files with a flash drive from my desktop(my main computer to the laptops hard drive so I can mix on the go. Would this affect the audio in any way?
Copying/Transferring files from one drive to another is fine and won't affect the audio. If the files are large, obviously you'd need a sizable flash drive.

If you want to mix 'on the go' you would need PT v9 with iLok authorization, or alternatively a Mbox Micro for versions previous to v9. Otherwise 'on the go' will mean dragging your hardware interface around with you as well.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-11-2011, 07:07 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

Pro Tools 9 on Windows 7 will actually be better with a USB2 drive, than it will with a firewire drive. AFAIK, this is because Win7 has improved USB drivers to the point where they now are okay for audio, but Win7 screwed up firewire to the point where it is less stable(go figure). In any case, a second internal drive will net the best performance anyway. 2 details that you should consider: the i3 is a budget cpu and you want power(the i5 would be a better choice) and, integrated graphics can sometimes be a show stopper(so consider a laptop with separate graphics from ATI or nVidia).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-11-2011, 08:55 AM
travgei travgei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: maumee
Posts: 30
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

I found this option (http://www.dell.com/us/business/p/vo...id=vostro-3750).
Around 800 dollars is were I would like to stay. I think the hp I was looking at had integrated graphics (http://www.shopping.hp.com/webapp/sh...ce/dv7t_series)
And I cant customize it to have a separate graphics card.

Do you know of any other options?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2011, 09:10 AM
travgei travgei is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: maumee
Posts: 30
Default Re: Windows Laptop for Pro Tools M-Powered

Also, do you think that an esata port would be necessary?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10: Windows 7 or Mac OS X Laptop?? addovox Pro Tools 10 7 02-02-2013 11:39 AM
Pro Tools M-Powered 8 wont install on my Windows 7 laptop Limn Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 6 12-25-2011 05:00 PM
Pro Tools M-Powered - Will it work on my laptop? bob081191 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 08-13-2010 05:04 PM
Pro Tools M-Powered Educational on Desktop and Laptop? scottee Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 06-09-2010 07:20 AM
Will Pro Tools 8 m-powered work on my laptop? jjk Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 05-28-2010 02:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com