Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2016, 07:50 AM
acbt acbt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Miami Dade
Posts: 1
Default Connecting MIDI keyboard into Pro-Tools 003 rack.

Hello,
I am trying to connect a Kurzweil PC88mx MIDI Keyboard Controller using Digidesign Pro-tools10 (version 10.3.9) 003 Rack, and Apple iMac OSX (version 10.11.5).

I have already followed the Audio MIDI setup to configure an external device according to 003 Rack (version 7.3) manual in the "configuring AMS" instruction pages (109 to 111) but still get no sound into an open track session on Pro-Tools.

I have noticed that the MIDI interface (003 rack) is not highlighted in the Audio MIDI setup window. It appears there, but for some reason it is not highlighted.

When playing on the keyboard a little light bulb flashes on my 003 rack (MIDI in), signaling the MIDI cables are working.

I have also tried Setup/Peripherals/MIDI Controllers/HUI; or M-Audio Keyboard (in #1 type), but nothing appears on "receive from" to make a selection in Pro-tools open session.

I have used Pro-Tools for voice recordings (which I have also installed an external preamp and of course a mic) with no problems so far.

Thank you in advance for any advice.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2016, 02:32 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,522
Default Re: Connecting MIDI keyboard into Pro-Tools 003 rack.

A few things to be aware of: the 003 might not be compatible with ElCrapitan. Second - make sure the Kurzweil and PT are talking on the same MIDI channel. Third - you don't set up anything in the controllers section of PT for the Kurzweil if all you're using for is as a way to enter notes, volume, sustain, pitch bend and mod wheel messages. Fourth - if the Kurzweil has both traditional 5 pin MIDI and USB MIDI make sure it's set to work on 5 pin MIDI; some keyboards have to set specifically for that.

Does the 003 show up at all in the MIDI section of OSX AMS? If you could post a screenshot of what you have in AMS that would help.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2016, 04:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,801
Default Re: Connecting MIDI keyboard into Pro-Tools 003 rack.

Peripherals is NOT the place to setup your keyboard for midi recording. You need to set it up in Midi studio and tell PT to receive midi via the 003 midi input. Check out youtube for some help on setting up a midi keyboard with DIGI003 on a Mac
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2019, 09:10 AM
ralphh ralphh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: st. petersburg
Posts: 1
Default Re: Connecting MIDI keyboard into Pro-Tools 003 rack.

HELLO DAVE,Will that work on a PC Im using P T /first Im also trying to connect a Alesis Q25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting MIDI Keyboard to Pro Tools 11 (MIDI Studio Not The Same) Diobility Pro Tools 11 2 11-04-2013 11:10 AM
Connecting keyboard to rack ixnys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-20-2002 11:40 PM
Need help connecting midi controller, keyboard, and rack. ixnys MIDI 1 03-04-2002 02:48 AM
Need help connecting a midi controller, keyboard, and rack. ixnys Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-03-2002 04:56 PM
Need help connecting keyboard,rack, and midi controller ixnys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-03-2002 03:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com