Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2016, 10:06 AM
jonathan jetter jonathan jetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 221
Default bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

hi everyone-

i know at one point back in the day, bug fix releases (e.g. 12.5.x) were going to be available w/o active support plans.

then there was the 11.3.2 fiasco, where it seemed like the resolution was that bug fix updates weren't available after all, but Avid made an exception and sent 11.3.2 out.

i'm about to let my HD support plan lapse, 'cause i've had enough, and because Avid eventually rewards holdouts at some point down the road. just want to confirm that i won't in fact have access to 12.5.1

thanks-
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2016, 10:08 AM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

I think you're right but it's a disgrace that bug fixes for software you already paid for are not included!
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2016, 11:28 AM
homebasesound homebasesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

I would expect bug fixes to be available for all. Only new features should be linked to active subscriptions.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2016, 11:30 AM
simonjewel's Avatar
simonjewel simonjewel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 295
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by homebasesound View Post
I would expect bug fixes to be available for all. Only new features should be linked to active subscriptions.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


That would be the correct assumption... I don't think that Avid does it that way any more without an active subscription
__________________
Mac Pro 2x2.8 ghz Intel Zeon, 20 gig ram, Yosemite 10.10.5, Pro Tools 10,11,12.7.1, Logic Pro X 10.2, UA Apollo 16 quad, UA Octo Pcies, Dangerous Music 2 Bus, Antelope Audio Satori, Lynx Studio Hilo, Neve 542, Neve 511, API 505 DI, Bettermaker CV502. Avid Artist Mix, Avid Artist Control, Softube Console 1 mk11.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2016, 11:47 AM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 454
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

No Support subscription - No bug fix for you
Means I will hopefully make retirement on 12.4 - which I rolled back to after endless freezes and crashes on 12.5.

It is a discrace - maybe it not just Avid - but the greed that is #1 for every big co in the world.
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 -Os 10.12.6 - 64 gb Ram - Protools 12.8 HDX - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card - DCommand ES24 - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 8.9.1 on 4 Core Mac Pro Dustbin with AJA Kona 3g) Soundminer 4.5 Pro
Protools 12.8.0 Vanilla in 2 x Edit suites one with S3 and one with Mackie Control.
Mediacomposer 8.9.1 on AJA Kona 3g x 3 suites
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2016, 11:48 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

You will have to be on an active support plan or subscription to get any updates (bug fix or features). Your Pro Tools 12 license will activate any version of PT 12 regardless of you support plan status, but you wont have access to the downloads of newly released updates.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2016, 12:45 PM
TNM TNM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,200
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

well let's hope that the gui refresh rate bugs are fixed before my support expires on Dec 31. I paid for a working product.

The license on my ilok says it doesn't expire, so i am a little confused about that. Does that mean that I can still use the latest version i already have forever even after my subscription expires?
__________________
1) iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, 2TB SSD, OS 10.13.6, Caldigit TS3+ Dock, Startech USB-C raid enclosure w/ Crucial MX500 1TB x2, 1TB SSD-R G Tech x 2, Samsung 860 Pro 512gb Audio Drive in USB C Enclosure, TBolt Apollo 8 x 2, TI2 Desktop, MoxF6, tons more midi synths, PT 2018.7/Cubase9.5.
2) MBP 2.8ghz i7 quad, 16GB ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018.7, Logic 10.4.1,Internal Sound, TBolt SSD 512GB.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2016, 12:52 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,697
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

Only if you have a Perpetual License ..


Quote:
Originally Posted by TNM View Post
well let's hope that the gui refresh rate bugs are fixed before my support expires on Dec 31. I paid for a working product.

The license on my ilok says it doesn't expire, so i am a little confused about that. Does that mean that I can still use the latest version i already have forever even after my subscription expires?
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2016, 12:54 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

The license is perpetual (if you bought, not monthly/yearly subscription). It will continue to authorize whatever version of Pro Tools you have when your yearly upgrade plan expires. When your upgrade plan expires, you no longer get download links for updated versions of Pro Tools in your Avid account, and won't receive new upgrades (say PT13).

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-28-2016, 02:58 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: bug fixes (e.g. 12.5.x) no longer included w/o support plan, right?

Avid has quietly changed the licensing faq to reflect current reality ... i.e. that you only have access to any update release, whether bug fix or new feature, or combination of both, so long as you have an active update plan.

The licensing FAQ nowadays says this ....

"When you buy a Pro Tools perpetual license, it includes an Annual Upgrade Plan, which provides all upgrades and stability releases for one year. After the first year, if you want to continue to receive software updates and stability releases you’ll need to renew your Annual Upgrade Plan for another year. If you choose not to renew your Upgrade Plan, you will not receive any software updates or bug fixes."


This is 100% contradictory to the statement made by Tony Cariddi in response to our questions when the new licensing regime was first announced in October 2014, in which he confirmed that bug fix releases would continue to be free, regardless of support plan status.

Actually, what he said, here ...

http://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2191911&postcount=8

was ...

"Yes, dot releases are included without a support plan."

in response to mesaone's question ...

"I read through the material, but I'm still unclear whether users have access to incremental updates ("dot releases" such as 11.2.1 to 11.3, etc) without purchasing a subscription."

It's not the first time we've been fed a line by Avid, and I'm sure it won't be the last. That's really all there is to say on the subject, unless we fancy another bout of mud slinging!

PS .... Of course you'll have to ignore Tony's use of the phrase 'support plan', which originally meant both the upgrade plan and the support plan. At the time of his statement, AVID was not offering these as separate plans, that was a later development in respons to the outcry fom users about being forced into buying the support element, which many felt they didn't need.

Also, mesaone's use of the word 'subscription' does not relate to what we now know as Pro Tools subscription licenses, it was how we were talking about the support plan, likening it to a subscription service as we have to pay it every year.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)

Last edited by nigelpry; 04-28-2016 at 03:06 PM. Reason: Added PS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools HD Plan license not updated after renewing Upgrade & Support Plan FritsFlits Licensing & Accounts 1 02-25-2016 02:55 PM
Avid Support Plan - Support costs Extra mixinthecity General Discussion 6 01-27-2016 01:47 PM
HD Annual Support Plan Should Include Support for ProControl and Control 24 Barry Johns ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 16 10-03-2015 03:41 AM
PT11 licence no longer included when upgrading to PT12 nigelpry Licensing & Accounts 16 08-15-2015 09:06 PM
Free Xpand Disc included with MPT- "Offer no longer good"? keenan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-19-2007 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com