Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2015, 12:26 AM
davemartone's Avatar
davemartone davemartone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 147
Default ONE SSD for ALL

Searching for weeks for this answer and there is no real answer I can find.

Old days we had

OS one drive
Audio one drive
Samples one drive

Today.. SSD 1 TB eg.

Run OS/Samples and Audio writing reading.

External for Backup.
Partitioned? No yes?

Not looking for thoughts, but actual proof.
Makes sense in 2016 to put it all on one drive. Back it up. and enjoy the speed.
I know most projects will be stored in Ram as well.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2015, 12:46 AM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

I am doing just that. Everything on one SSD. Backup on external drive.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2015, 01:15 AM
mhuang mhuang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Pasadena, California
Posts: 84
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

personally, I still go with 2 SSDs minimum, 1 for OS and 1 for project drive.
I rather spread out the write life cycle to 2 SSD instead of 1.
__________________
Michael Huang - Post Audio
IMDB PAGE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2015, 01:22 AM
davemartone's Avatar
davemartone davemartone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 147
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

At this point in the game, life of the SSD does not really seem relevant.
Check this out

http://www.pcworld.com/article/28560...ity-fears.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2015, 05:20 AM
thewiz's Avatar
thewiz thewiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Skien Norway
Posts: 290
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

Same here I work on the 500gig SSD internal drive on both my Mac.. huge thunderbolt Raid HD for backup only..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2015, 05:36 AM
7Seas's Avatar
7Seas 7Seas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Portugal
Posts: 65
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

OS should in principle always be in a separate drive.
The question is not so much speed (although speed is always a consideration), with SSDs and all, but with the fact that you would be putting everything through the same I/O path and therefore potentiating a 'Single Point of Failure' event.

Z.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-31-2015, 05:45 AM
abre abre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
Posts: 437
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

I say put everything on the SSD. Except the backup. Get your monies worth
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-31-2015, 06:21 AM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

I'm still old school -

1 SSD for the OS and programs
1 SSD for samples
1 big 2 TB spinning disk for audio & video scratch.

I'm beginning to re-think the spinning drive, and may want to replace it with a 1 TB SSD.

Anyone still using platter drives?

tg
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-31-2015, 06:33 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

on a Desktop machine I still recommend separate drives for each
on a Laptop OS/Samples on one, sessions on another
everything on 1 drive still makes me nervous and makes drive/data management a PITA
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2015, 06:44 AM
littlesicily littlesicily is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 227
Default Re: ONE SSD for ALL

Mac Pro w/ 4 internal Drive bays...

1 SSD for OS
1 SSD for Audio
1 SSD for Samples
1 spinning HD for other Media (itunes, iphoto)

Backups of each w/ spinning HDs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com