Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2015, 02:07 PM
yorgo yorgo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Brampton
Posts: 101
Default Audio files, where are they?

So I've noticed that not all my audio files are NOT in the project audio files folder. Is there something I can check off to make this happen....btw where do they go?
Thanks
__________________
Pro tools 11.3, Windows 7 Premium,
Desktop i5 4670 3.4ghz 16G ram quad core
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2015, 02:20 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Audio files????Where are they

You haven't moved the session around from drive to drive via drag and drop have you?

If the session opens ok, then simply chose: file menu, save session copy, and click all audio files and PT will gather them all up into a new session for you.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2015, 03:00 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Audio files????Where are they

Also, go into preferences and check "copy files on import."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2015, 05:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,813
Default Re: Audio files????Where are they

Indeed, there are several ways for a user to mess this up(trust me, I learned the hard way). 2 things I will toss out for you:

#1-whenever I import audio, no matter where it comes from, I ALWAYS move/copy it into the session folder, BEFORE I use the Import audio command.(I have had "copy files on import" checked in preferences, but still had imported audio still come up as off-line)

#2-if you open a "template" session and then(once it has opened) you save it to your recording drive, this is not the way to do it. either CREATE a new session from a template(not sure what version of PT you have, so there may be stuff you are not aware of). Or, create a blank session on your recording drive, then go to File>Import session Data>point to your template session and import all the tracks(this was/is the work-around in older versions of PT that did not offer the ability to "Save as Template"(from the FILE menu)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2015, 08:54 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: Audio files????Where are they

#1-whenever I import audio, no matter where it comes from, I ALWAYS move/copy it into the session folder, BEFORE I use the Import audio command.(I have had "copy files on import" checked in preferences, but still had imported audio still come up as off-line)

A good habit that I need to do every time!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2015, 09:30 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Audio files????Where are they

In the Clip Bin: Show Full Path
That will tell you were Pro Tools thinks the Files are
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
usaved PT session saving unsaved audio files to audio files folder mermermer Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 07-18-2012 11:50 AM
Audio files on one FW Drive render blank audio files when copied ridmik Digidesign Hardware & Software 4 03-30-2012 12:55 PM
All Sessions using SDII files are missing all audio files and won't relink bigmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 03-18-2009 12:54 PM
fade files and elastic audio files in wrong place studiojb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-14-2008 02:56 PM
Fade Files as Audio Files in "Missing Audio" ?? CCash Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 05-18-2005 09:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com