Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-14-2015, 09:10 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Hardware firmware support plan?

My apology if it was annoying... and I understand all the "what if" freak out moments everyone is having...

My point is this... If you have an existing system and its working to your liking there is no reason you NEED to have a hardware support plan.

Thats all I was saying, in an admittedly obnoxious way to some Im sure..... but its crazy for people to think this means they cant get work done or something is going to go wrong if they dont "jump on the Avid support wagon"

You dont need it unless you want it... What is so wrong for a company to ask you to pay for an upgrade but to include that in an annual plan that cost this much? I do it with almost every piece of software I own. I am using Maya 2014, if I want the features 15 has I pay for the upgrage.
__________________
-Systems Engineer, Systems and Sound Designer, Recording and Mixing Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-14-2015, 09:34 PM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Hardware firmware support plan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonthurley View Post
My apology if it was annoying... and I understand all the "what if" freak out moments everyone is having...

My point is this... If you have an existing system and its working to your liking there is no reason you NEED to have a hardware support plan.

Thats all I was saying, in an admittedly obnoxious way to some Im sure..... but its crazy for people to think this means they cant get work done or something is going to go wrong if they dont "jump on the Avid support wagon"

You dont need it unless you want it... What is so wrong for a company to ask you to pay for an upgrade but to include that in an annual plan that cost this much? I do it with almost every piece of software I own. I am using Maya 2014, if I want the features 15 has I pay for the upgrage.
I wasn't offended, I was trying to make my position clear. I'm not freaking out, I'm pissed. What AVID wants from me is the upgrade price AND an agreement to pay them $600 a year so I can maintain eligibility for any future upgrades. They also have not advised on an option for HD owners to buy back in if their support plan lapses, and you can't buy HD software without purchasing hardware. They may change that, but they are expecting us HARDWARE owners to be patient until they're good and ready to give us that information. Also, that $600 a year doesn't include my surface and my transport, and they haven't announced how many pounds of flesh they want in addition to the $600 a year for the interface.

And yes, Eucon is buggy as crap and upgrades are few and far between, and yes, I've had problems I've had to send my Mix back for twice.

I was just about to purchase a Control and another Mix...no way that's going to happen now.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-14-2015, 11:37 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: Hardware firmware support plan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArKay99 View Post
What AVID wants from me is the upgrade price AND an agreement to pay them $600 a year so I can maintain eligibility for any future upgrades.
What makes you think you cant just pay for a support plan and by doing so you get the upgrade? Thats what I did a year ago... added software support plan and it allows all my PT software to be current to what they release. I didnt pay to upgrade to 11, I am still mostly on 10 but I am now eligible for 12 cause I renewed the coverage.

Sorry to hear about your hardware issues. I have all kinds of stuff from command D's and 002/003 console, Artist series, C-24.... I rarely have an issue... knock on wood

Never messed w the new S series stuff

Well I hope you can stop being pissed until at least they make official final announcements about it so you can validate it, well other than your Ucon issues... I would be too. Cheers
__________________
-Systems Engineer, Systems and Sound Designer, Recording and Mixing Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-15-2015, 03:11 AM
paul007 paul007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 63
Default Re: Hardware firmware support plan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonthurley View Post
My apology if it was annoying... and I understand all the "what if" freak out moments everyone is having...

My point is this... If you have an existing system and its working to your liking there is no reason you NEED to have a hardware support plan.
Until you loose compatibility with your OS,import/export,formats,plugins,hardware ,third party options/programs,etc,etc.

To get back on the support train means you receive a penalty, so all the wonderful "choices" Avid speaks about are:
1. A rock
2. A hard place.

In post production changes in infrastructure are regular business, compatibility is vital.

And who owns many of the packages you have to stay compatible with?
Exactly... ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-15-2015, 11:15 AM
ArKay99 ArKay99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 771
Default Re: Hardware firmware support plan?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonthurley View Post
What makes you think you cant just pay for a support plan and by doing so you get the upgrade?
I'm not sure how much clearer I can make it, but the new plan requires a yearly support plan in place continuously to receive upgrades and if you let it lapse there is currently no way to purchase an upgrade. AND currently if you own hardware that is covered by that support plan you can't sell it, as in no transfer of ownership. Finally, no one can purchase PT HD software without also buying at least a Native card and an Omni, i.e. an entire system.

Now currently, as you have pointed out, they have not announced a remedy for this conundrum. The best we have is an 'unofficial word' that it will come sometime before the end of the year.

If they make the announcement that all PT HD owners can proceed as you have stated, I'd be good to go with that... i.e. 2016 rolls around and I choose not to upgrade, i.e. not purchase the support plan and late in 2016 they announce PT13 and it has some new features I really want then I can choose to engage in the service contract to get that, then I may choose to take advantage of that.

On the other hand, if they decide to keep the policy at it currently stands, if I don't purchase a service contract I have no way to upgrade in the future unless I purchase a new full HD system (software AND hardware).

That in itself doesn't necessarily piss me off, what pisses me off is that I'm supposed to wait with my investment in the balance going forward until THEY decide to clear up the ambiguity.
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1, E5-2690 V2 10 core 3.0G, 32gig 1866 memory, 512G PCIe system drive, 2 1T data drives in Thunderbolt enclosure, OSX 10.10.5, Twin Raven MTi's, Apollo 8 TB, 2 UAD2 Satellite Octo Thunderbolt, RME ADI-4 DD, Neve 5012, 5043, Bricasti M7, 2 PCM 92's, M350, Pro Tools 12.4 HD, PreSonus Studio One 3.5, Logic X, DynAudio BM6 MK 3, BM14S, a bunch of cool mics...1 damned iLok2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have not received any support under the new PT + standard support plan KnightTime Pro Tools 11 40 09-13-2015 10:41 AM
Support Plan Query macrae11 Pro Tools 10 3 01-30-2012 07:24 AM
Avid support plan...you can't even buy it anywhere! LSD-Studio Pro Tools 10 26 12-08-2011 12:27 PM
Support Plan for Europe ? marrap Pro Tools 10 25 11-17-2011 09:48 AM
Support Plan - $599 with pt 10 karljohnson Pro Tools 10 25 11-16-2011 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com