Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-04-2014, 10:59 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 213
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

I know it's an old thread but...

My C24 PSU just took a dump yesterday (of course at the start of an important TV mix that airs globally at 6:00 AM Monday).

I called Skynet, their price is $50 now. I sent the PSU out 2nd day air which cost me as much as the repair. I hope to get it back quickly. Mixing with the mouse is no fun.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-04-2014, 11:20 AM
opacheco opacheco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: HONDURAS CENTRAL AMERICA
Posts: 24
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Dear off the wall,

Thare are some models of this PSU and some of them have this damn problem; I continue with this trouble in my Control 24 until and I will appreciate if you can ansk to them for the exact part that need to change for fix this problem. If you have a picture of this PSU before and another after of repair process will very help for my here.

I will appreciate so much your help because I live outside of USA and that cost A LOT OF money.

Thanks anticipated
Opacheco
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-04-2014, 11:25 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 213
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Quote:
Originally Posted by opacheco View Post
Dear off the wall,

Thare are some models of this PSU and some of them have this damn problem; I continue with this trouble in my Control 24 until and I will appreciate if you can ansk to them for the exact part that need to change for fix this problem. If you have a picture of this PSU before and another after of repair process will very help for my here.

I will appreciate so much your help because I live outside of USA and that cost A LOT OF money.

Thanks anticipated
Opacheco
I don't have a picture before, the PSU is already on it's way to Skynet. I'll try to find our what they wind up replacing.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-04-2014, 11:52 AM
opacheco opacheco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: HONDURAS CENTRAL AMERICA
Posts: 24
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I don't have a picture before, the PSU is already on it's way to Skynet. I'll try to find our what they wind up replacing.
Ok this will be a great help to me!!...But please send me a picture when you recive the repair PSU, may be I can see something there.

I changed "ALL" the Electrolitics capacitors and one Bridge Rectifier(the bigger square form black bridge rectifier), but the problem continue until!....maybe any IC or DIODE will be the problem.


Thanks again!
Opacheco.

Last edited by opacheco; 01-04-2014 at 10:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-07-2014, 02:08 PM
opacheco opacheco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: HONDURAS CENTRAL AMERICA
Posts: 24
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I don't have a picture before, the PSU is already on it's way to Skynet. I'll try to find our what they wind up replacing.
Dear of the wall,

Please let us to know if your c24 problem was solved?? And please post some pictures of the repaired PSU in order to get an idea what these guys changed in this board!!!

Thanks anticipated,
Opacheco
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 12-11-2014, 04:09 PM
SDBSDB SDBSDB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: WORLD
Posts: 1
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

My first post with avid the topic C24 power supply. c20 is very near a very hot transformer - so cap goes out. The correct repair is mount cap on bottom of board away from transformer. 24/7 use typical is 3-6 months depending on cap quality, Proper repaired bottom of board is on second year, Note: leave enough lead to fold over about 1/8 from board add a silicone glue to insulate . AVID I am looking for tech work I ask did any of your guys catch this. A repair is good, ah finding the problem, then reparing the whole problem is correct. Sorry any of you needed repairs more than once. Next sugested add on is molex plugs to secondary wiring area needs of console, then PS just unplugs for simple repair and leaves away to have a second PS that can swap in minutes, I have a happy client now. Steven Brown looking for military grade cap set [ all caps on board] will list if I find source[s]
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 12-11-2014, 04:45 PM
opacheco opacheco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: HONDURAS CENTRAL AMERICA
Posts: 24
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDBSDB View Post
My first post with avid the topic C24 power supply. c20 is very near a very hot transformer - so cap goes out. The correct repair is mount cap on bottom of board away from transformer. 24/7 use typical is 3-6 months depending on cap quality, Proper repaired bottom of board is on second year, Note: leave enough lead to fold over about 1/8 from board add a silicone glue to insulate . AVID I am looking for tech work I ask did any of your guys catch this. A repair is good, ah finding the problem, then reparing the whole problem is correct. Sorry any of you needed repairs more than once. Next sugested add on is molex plugs to secondary wiring area needs of console, then PS just unplugs for simple repair and leaves away to have a second PS that can swap in minutes, I have a happy client now. Steven Brown looking for military grade cap set [ all caps on board] will list if I find source[s]
Dear
You must be talking about of another model than mine!!...My Power Supply board don't have any transformer. Please post a pic of your Power Supplay if you have one. I changed ALL the electrolytic capacitors and the problems was there gain and again. Some advices will be appreciate.

Thanks a lot
Opacheco.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12-12-2014, 06:26 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,482
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Hi,

For the control 24 capacitor repair...

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=349680


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club_Build A Tower top 20 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 Control 24 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-13-2014, 01:56 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 213
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Quote:
Originally Posted by opacheco View Post
Dear of the wall,

Please let us to know if your c24 problem was solved?? And please post some pictures of the repaired PSU in order to get an idea what these guys changed in this board!!!

Thanks anticipated,
Opacheco
I was in a hurry and they offered to cross ship me a rebuilt one they already had in stock so I have no idea what was changed from the one I had.

I got the exchanged PSU back from them almost a year ago. It's been turned on a few hours almost every day since then with no issues.

Unfortunately, I think Skynet has disappeared. I tried to find them recently for a friend. The phone number I had is no longer working and their website is gone. I guess I'll hit up SDBSDB if I have any issues in the future.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 36GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-13-2014, 02:09 PM
opacheco opacheco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: HONDURAS CENTRAL AMERICA
Posts: 24
Default Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
I was in a hurry and they offered to cross ship me a rebuilt one they already had in stock so I have no idea what was changed from the one I had.

I got the exchanged PSU back from them almost a year ago. It's been turned on a few hours almost every day since then with no issues.

Unfortunately, I think Skynet has disappeared. I tried to find them recently for a friend. The phone number I had is no longer working and their website is gone. I guess I'll hit up SDBSDB if I have any issues in the future.

No good luck for me!
Thanks
Opacheco.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D Control replacement faders (or repair?) AINSLIE ICON & C|24 6 11-06-2013 07:59 AM
Control 24 Power Supply Self Repair jschival67 ICON & C|24 8 07-30-2012 02:08 PM
Control 24 back from Digi Repair Table Syrup Records ICON & C|24 4 04-05-2011 06:24 AM
Looking for a Pro Control Repair Manual defcon ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 4 02-18-2011 01:34 PM
Control 24 repair in Los Angeles RKrizman ICON & C|24 1 12-07-2009 10:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com