Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2008, 12:52 AM
Bryan Cook Bryan Cook is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA (Eagle Rock)
Posts: 242
Default recording modes

hi everyone. purely hypothetical question. i'm going to be recording a one hour live performance next week and was curious: are any modes more likely to save audio in the event of a computer problem? meaning, i know quickpunch for example records all the time that the transport is moving, regardless if you are "punched in" or not. would it, or destructive, or no selection at all be more or less likely to have written the audio to disk in the event of a crash, dae error, or drive problem?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-03-2008, 05:42 PM
Hearfilm Hearfilm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 72
Default Re: recording modes

You can use "gain" in audiosuite to create empty tracks for your duration, and then record destructive to them. That would be the closest thing to tape in the event of a crash.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-03-2008, 11:26 PM
Bryan Cook Bryan Cook is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA (Eagle Rock)
Posts: 242
Default Re: recording modes

great idea - thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2008, 03:56 PM
Bryan Cook Bryan Cook is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA (Eagle Rock)
Posts: 242
Default Re: recording modes

this technique for some reason worked fine for one pass, but if i stopped and tried to start again, protools would unexpectedly quit. which made me freaked out for a live show recording situation. this all happened during soundcheck. then when recording in quickpunch i was getting a lot of "couldn't get info from the drive fast enough" errors.

so i just recorded with no recording mode selected (non destructive, non track, non quick) and it worked out fine, thankfully!!

wonder why recording destructive over blank audio, stop and start would create a crash.... ?

FYI, it was 22 tracks for 1.5 hours at 24bit 44.1k WAV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-2008, 07:02 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: recording modes

Make sure to limit your Available Space. I set to 180 min.
And make sure all scrolling is off.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2008, 12:56 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,549
Default Re: recording modes

Quote:
this all happened during soundcheck. then when recording in quickpunch i was getting a lot of "couldn't get info from the drive fast enough" errors.

Hi,

Recording in quick-punch uses "double" the disk i/o streaming and double the disk space. it is effectively recording 2 tracks for every one.

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2008, 07:32 AM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: recording modes

When recording a live gig think of if it like running a marathon.
Go as light as possible. Don't add anything that will tax DAE or the system.
K.I.S.S.
If you can test during the sound check, then all the better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Solo Modes??? jdutaillis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-15-2009 08:38 PM
Modes softkey SBP ICON & C|24 0 08-12-2009 12:31 PM
Could someone explain these two modes please Peter Groom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-04-2006 10:44 AM
Input modes ladewd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-22-2005 11:44 AM
record modes dmaxj 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-21-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com