Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-03-2020, 09:06 PM
MaddiRo14 MaddiRo14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools: Windows or MacOS

Hi everyone! I’m a student at Berklee College and I’m studying music production. I currently own a MacBook Air from mid-2017 with 8GB RAM and 128 SSD and have been told that it won’t be very compatible with Pro tools or Reason and programs like those. So everyone keeps telling me that I should get a MacBook Pro but I’m also looking into the MS surfaces or even HP. I guess I’m asking if apple is the best computer for music production or is the surface pro or HP just as good?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2020, 08:39 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,419
Default Re: Pro Tools: Windows or MacOS

Well, the Mac fans will(of course) insist you get a Macbook Pro, but the Surface is a very capable computer. Its more down to 2 things; #1-will the class be done only on one platform(Mac or PC)? If yes, then you might want to lean in that direction. And #2-the actual specs of the computer. You want a fast multi-core cpu and you want 16GB of RAM at the absolute minimum. Then, unless you are going to carry a separate external drive for your sessions(which needs to be either an SSD or a 7200 rpm spinner), then you want at least a 1TB SSD in the computer(the speed of SSD's allows you to record to the internal drive, which was a bad idea back in the age of spinning hard drives). I know 1TB seems huge, but once you start recording sessions and adding virtual instrument plugins and libraries, a smaller drive will get filled up pretty fast.

I can't comment on the HP as I'm not sure how compatible they are(unless you get a recommendation on a specific model). 1 point in favor of the MBP, Core audio seems a bit more friendly. I'm sure others will have lots to say(and I would listen to all)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2020, 09:03 AM
MaddiRo14 MaddiRo14 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools: Windows or MacOS

It runs with IOS and windows 7. So I know that I could have either. I’m more concerned with all the cost of each computer. But I also want a computer that is close to the best for this kind of thing. Does anyone have any recommendations for computers? Macs and other brands. Thank you guys!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2020, 04:22 AM
StillHollow StillHollow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 72
Default Re: Pro Tools: Windows or MacOS

I’ve been running ProTools on a PC for years with no more issues then the Mac guys so your own personal comfort with an operating system should also play into this decision. AVID is obviously committed to supporting both.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2020, 07:49 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,768
Default Re: Pro Tools: Windows or MacOS

From a Mac studio with 15 year useage of Mac Pro’s and MBP’s for travel our perspective when it comes to laptops I would look at a 2015 i7 16GB ram and atleast a 512GB SSD main drive and you can find one on macsales and other refurb places or your local second hand avenues.

It has been easier and less issues for Macbook Pro owners as Win Laptops have been abit of hit and miss so a used 2015/2016/2017 i7 16 GB or better and a 512GB SSD is a winner. You can use than for a long time and not pushed into running the latest Catalina which comes on new MacPro as High Sierra and the ven Mojave has been very solid OS’s.

This is just my opinion and comes from many years as a Mac user. We have many members here who use both PC/Mac in their studios and home setups but when it comes to laptops and use of Thunderbolt external devices later on it will probably in all honesty a safer bet to get a Macbook Pro here.

Look at the used versions I gave you and you can find one for 1K or less.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2020, 08:24 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 2,733
Default Re: Pro Tools: Windows or MacOS

Pro Tools works well (for the most part) on both platforms. I've owned and gigged at studios with both Mac & Win. I think it also comes down to which platform you are most comfortable with. Get the fastest CPU you can afford, at least 16GB ram, and a big NVMe SSD. Do all the AVID recommended system optimizations, and uninstall or disable all bloatware and useless startup items.

The thing that bugs me about Mac a bit, is that the OS upgrades tend to break Pro Tools. My 2 cents.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 hex 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.3 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for demo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2020, 07:49 PM
Dale-c Dale-c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools: Windows or MacOS

I am running an older version on both. An ancient Macbook pro with a core 2 duo and only 4 gb of RAM running snow leopard. Then i have the same version (9.05) running on a Dell latitude with 16 gb of RAM, i5 256 GB nVME SSD and Win 10 pro and 7 (installed both). It seems to run fine under 10 but I prefer PT on Mac just due to better multi monitor support.

I use both Macs and PCs daily and have for years, though i have mostly used PT on Macs. I second the idea of getting a good 2015 Macbook pro or a similar business class Dell or a Dell precision. If you will be using a USB interface you will be fine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools tabbed windows in MacOs - Windows configuration not working hugocentrique macOS 2 05-07-2018 11:57 AM
What is the Most Stable MacOS for Pro Tools HDX and PT 12? AMIEL Pro Tools 12 17 11-10-2016 10:04 AM
pro tools 8 and macOS x 10.5.6? vdz415 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-18-2008 01:43 AM
Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and MacOS? driver49 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 14 09-15-2007 08:06 PM
MacOs X and Pro Tools, when? GunnarO 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-26-2002 09:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com