Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-22-2015, 06:41 AM

Default Eleven Rack fimware update 2.0 advice needed

I take advantage to greet everyone and avid comunity via my 1st post here, i am new to avid. i just bought an 11r unit second hand from a friend few days ago. Unfortunately it came with no cds avalabile, PT nor the update considering the small price paid. Perhaps this has been long discused before, sorry if raising this again, I just have few questions:

1. Is the upgrade worth spending $$$, i'm on a limited budget. I don't need extra Amps and cabs I just need few things that sound decent. I'm trying to get a good Marshall sound with my guitar Heritage H150.
For e.g. amp sim Lead 800 will sound better in firmware 2.0? Now i have 1.0.3 and to my ears sounds pretty digital and dull... I also have decend sound card and monitors (EMU 1616m and Prodipe Pro 8 Ribbon) and a little expreience in tweaking, ust want to know if this update also improve exisitng amps while adding other or only adds stuff? :)

2. How do I upload presets? The 11r Editor is the only way? if i don't have update 2.0 i cannot upload presets?

I'm on a windows 7 32bit OS working with CUBASE pro 8. Avid site seems so complicated. So I m a bit dissapointed by the sound, but willing to try more and upgrade if it really worthed. Hope i didn't raised to many silly questions. I'm new to this so i will apreciate some good answres in advance! Thanks :)

here is a video with me playing, a humble tribute to the great Gary Moore! RIP
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aB6vhsMo6VI
Bless u all, grettings from Romania!
Old 04-22-2015, 10:04 AM

Default Re: Eleven Rack fimware update 2.0 advice needed