Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2017, 08:08 PM
Melodic Wave Melodic Wave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: newport tn
Posts: 19
Default PT 10 using resources while in idle?

Hello, my win 7 PC seems to be getting more and more sluggish the past few months for no apparent reason. Now PT is taking longer and longer to boot. I see that while in idle PT is using 12% to 20% of the PC resources, which I don't understand why it's working so hard while standing still. My NI libraries are on an external HD, so that's not the issue. I have 16 gigs of RAM, 3.2 gigahertz quad core intel i5....I've only used around 250 gigs of a 1TB HD.... I've ran diagnostics and nothing is showing up as unusual..... I'm stumped because I don't know if PT is the cause or something awry in my PC somewhere, but the PC runs ok outside of running PT..... I'm almost to the point of upgrading to an SSD, but what's the use unless I buy PT12 to take advantage of all that RAM. At any rate, is it normal for PT to be revving that high in idle?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2017, 07:45 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,140
Default Re: PT 10 using resources while in idle?

Do you use a second hard drive for your sessions or are you only using the system drive? How full is it?

PT does tend to take over a computer's resources. Many will tell you an i5 is not enough CPU for PT.

YMMV
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Idle, CPU at 80% drenn Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 08-13-2014 02:56 PM
Crash when idle Stig Eliassen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-04-2012 09:32 AM
i7 idle temps. rhythmtechnologies 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-12-2009 04:15 PM
pt8 - 90% cpu idle, 5% while playing? huh!? noahandrew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-14-2009 07:56 AM
Mbox uses 50% cpu while idle bellisimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-09-2003 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com