Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2015, 03:31 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

Just wondering whether it's just me or whether it's a Pro Tools bug (might be called a feature?).
When I create a session copy in PT HD 12.3, it doesn't copy all the audio files in my bin anymore. Only the files present on a track. This was not the case in PT 11 using the exact same settings. The option 'Selected Tracks Only' is turned off. I can do any sort of combination of settings but the session copy only copies the files on a track.

Anyone else getting this?

I'm testing this by creating a 1 track session, render 2 audio files, place one of them on the timeline and leave the other in the bin/clip list.

I couldn't find any mention of this in the readme docs. Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2015, 07:29 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,779
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

When saving the session copy did you click the include audio checkbox in the initial dialogue window?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2015, 09:47 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,697
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

so only the Main Playlist is coming over ... i will see what i find here ...
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2015, 09:54 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,697
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

ok .. so i did the Save Copy IN .. checked the box for audio files, left Main and Selected Tracks Not Checked ..

it brought all the files BUT One .. the parent file is there but one of the Daughter Files was not BUT when i open the NEw Session the parent is missing and the daughter is there ... weird behavior .. should be identical ... another bug ??
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2015, 11:16 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
When saving the session copy did you click the include audio checkbox in the initial dialogue window?
Yep, include audio, nothing else is checked. (There is no combination of checkmarks to fix the issue.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
ok .. so i did the Save Copy IN .. checked the box for audio files, left Main and Selected Tracks Not Checked ..

it brought all the files BUT One .. the parent file is there but one of the Daughter Files was not BUT when i open the NEw Session the parent is missing and the daughter is there ... weird behavior .. should be identical ... another bug ??
Can you generate a tone, remove it from the track so it's only in your clip list, and make a session copy? (maybe delete the track to clear your undo queue). In my case the generated clip is gone altogether.

It seems the 'save copy in' function is ignoring unused clips, but doesn't provide the option to include them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2015, 06:15 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 169
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

Still the same using PT 12.3.1 now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-25-2015, 07:32 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,779
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

That's not good. You want all relevant audio to come into the copied session.

I'll have to check our machines today to see if this behavior is repeatable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-25-2015, 08:43 AM
cj.allen321 cj.allen321 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Brotton, UK
Posts: 9
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

I'm also experiencing this too, just tested and only audio on tracks is included when Saving Copy In and including "all" audio files.

This is a definite change in functionality as you used to have to use "select unused" from the clips list menu on the copy, to clean things up.

Chris.
__________________
Chris Allen

Lecturer / Instructor / Assessor, B.Sc. (Honours) Music Technology

Middlesbrough College,
Dock Street,
Middlesbrough.
TS2 1AD

http://www.c-allen.co.uk
http://www.teesmusictech.co.uk
http://www.ironopolisrecords.co.uk/

cj.allen@mbro.ac.uk
chris@c-allen.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-25-2015, 03:37 PM
weezul weezul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 372
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

dangerous... although the only time i use 'Save Copy As' is to do exactly that, prune the files. one to keep in mind, thanks!
__________________
http://www.liamgaughan.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-26-2015, 05:59 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,536
Default Re: Save Session Copy doesn't copy all files within the bin anymore

This has been logged with Avid.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Save Session Copy in" occasionally doesn't copy.. Willard Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-06-2007 12:31 AM
"Save Session Copy In" still misses files. Wilbur Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-20-2005 01:18 PM
PC Save Session Copy In 5.0 BWF files? Andrew B75 Post - Surround - Video 1 10-09-2004 12:20 PM
save session copy in doesn't work access privilege paapje Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-01-2004 03:03 PM
"Save Session Copy" MUST copy AIIFF files??? BHeller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-11-2001 12:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com