Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2020, 02:01 PM
summit01 summit01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 122
Default Speeding up and slowing down PB in ProTools

Hey guys,
I would like to speed up or slow down the playback in pro tools in HT-steps. Like in the old days with the studer 2"... play it back at lower speed and record, then play it back at normal speed. (similar to shift-space function/ -12HT)
I definitely dont want to time compress it with elastic audio or TCE nor melodyne it.

Since Im working with Apogee bigben as a clocking unit, it will allow me to speed up or slow down the clock by 1% or 4%. So basically to run the whole system at 50kHz. Im getting the desired change in tempo and pitch and hearing no artifacts? Im wondering if any of you have better ideas to approach the matter?

Thanks D
__________________
*MacPro Rack 16 core| 96GB Ram | OSX 10.15.4
HDX l 5x 192 I/O | PT Ultimate 2020

*MacPro Quad 2.66 | 6GB Ram | OSX 10.9.8
HD6 Accel | Magma PE6R | 2x 192 I/O | PT 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2020, 07:24 PM
cwsand's Avatar
cwsand cwsand is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 3,462
Default Re: Speeding up and slowing down PB in ProTools

While it's listed under Elastic Audio, the Varispeed function is what I use for recording at a different speed. Basically you enable Varispeed on all the tracks in the session including the one you're recording with, then change the tempo to play everything faster or slower while recording the new audio. Then when you're done, change the tempo back to the original. You can then just disable Varispeed on the original tracks, and commit the Varispeed on the new track(s) - don't use X-form on it though because it will then stretch or compress the audio - just commit it as is and it should be synched with the session at the correct tempo.
__________________
Help Us Help You

Chris
__________________________________________________
Focusrite Liquid Saffire 56
TCE Studio Konnekt 48
PreSonus Digimax LT
Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3P / i7 6700K 4.1 GHz / 32GB Crucial DDR4
macOS Catalina 10.15.7
Pro Tools HD 2020.12.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
midi tracks (including click alone) speeding up/slowing down? awritersparadise Pro Tools 11 0 12-16-2014 07:34 PM
Speeding Up/Slowing Down Audio Tracks? TigerTwin macOS 2 08-19-2011 07:38 AM
speeding up protools? CrAkD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 12-06-2008 01:55 PM
Slowing down or speeding up songs in PT Michael Carpenter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-27-2002 11:18 AM
Speeding up/slowing down, guide click for band while in record? Jules Tips & Tricks 2 01-04-2000 07:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com