Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2004, 03:08 AM
Tim Burgan Tim Burgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default MBOX Playback without headphones

Hello,

I've just purchased an MBOX, is it possible to playback the ProTools audio through the PC Speakers via the default PC sound card rather than through the HEADPHONES jack of the MBOX?

Thanks

Tim Burgan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2004, 06:59 AM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

No..use the line outs on the Mbox into powered speakers or a power amp/speaker setup. This will give you the best results..
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2004, 02:45 PM
Tim Burgan Tim Burgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 7
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

Yes, understood... but is it possible?

I want to edit quickly on my laptop sometimes without the hasstle of having headphones or a poweramp around - but just through the crappy little laptop speakers.

Thanks

Tim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2004, 02:56 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

I think Bazzle gave you the right and only answer. Unfortunately not the one many PT users would like to hear. In fact, being an 002R user, I've just bought an Mbox ( i.e. dongle) for remote mixing and tracking. In the literature that came in the same Box as the Mbox, it says in the FAQ that it cannot be done.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2004, 02:58 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,914
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

not possible. Mbox ONLY uses the outputs on the mbox. Maybe its an idea to run a line from the output of the mbox to the input of your soundcard. Then you can lsten to the mbox on your pc-speakers....
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2004, 05:02 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

Tim,

I don't quite get it...you must use the Mbox to run PT LE.
How much more trouble is to hook up a set of cans for editing ?

cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2004, 05:08 PM
Bazzle Bazzle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Next door,to where I used to be.
Posts: 3,148
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

Tim just get a pair of ear buds.The Mbox will always have to be there anyways.
__________________
Bazzle

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-22-2004, 02:22 PM
ITZIK ITZIK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California, USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

I have a creative SBlive with S/PDIF input.
I connect the S/PDIF output from Mbox to S/pDIF input of my sound card.
It works, but you're probably know that PC speakers are not Ideal for mixing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-22-2004, 02:37 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

Yes ITZIK ,

That seems like a simple way...except, some systems ( my did at the beginning )have problems running
the Mbox and onboard sound at the same time ..

cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-22-2004, 03:12 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: MBOX Playback without headphones

Andrew - sorry Tim to borow your thread for a moment,

I have added the Mbox to my arsenal and don't uinderstand the mix knob when its in the middle. Do I get a 50/50 direct and playback sound of the instrument I am recording or am I getting only the direct sound of the instrument and the playback sound of the mix I am monitoring?
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Playback Through Headphones (Pro Tools 10) Davi Windows 4 01-05-2019 02:55 PM
Playback only through headphones! jikaru 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-10-2008 07:51 PM
Playback in the headphones felix822 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 02-12-2007 03:33 PM
No Playback through Headphones in Pro Tools 6.1 JSXtremist 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-25-2003 12:51 PM
No Playback through Headphones kucharo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 10-04-2001 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com