Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2006, 06:16 PM
Valeri Valeri is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 211
Default Is Pro Control a legacy controler now...???

I was just wondering as i have a HD Accel system with no control board at all.Is it worth looking into buying something like Pro Control or Control 24 .......,or just safe some money and get the basic version of Icon.I know Pro Control is still supported with PT7,does it work well?I see quite a few of these on ebay and to me sounds like people are getting rid of them.
Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2006, 06:27 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,563
Default Re: Is Pro Control a legacy controler now...???

to me, i'd save and get the d command. the dedicated eq and dynamics panels, touch sensitive controllers, X-Mon, etc makes it head and shoulders above the PC.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2006, 09:53 PM
RobMacki RobMacki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Jefferson State, USA
Posts: 2,968
Default Re: Is Pro Control a legacy controler now...???

I am in a similar situation. i have been watching ProControls on eBay for some time now. When you consider going from mouse and keyboard to a PC, the advance in workflow I think would be significant. I am about to buy a PC and use it for a year and see if I will continue or go for d-Command, as that is when my Avid lease term will be up. The dynamic and eq section is amazing, but when you can get a PC for about $.30 on the dollar it really brings things into focus IMHO. But to answer the question about PC being legacy, that would be yes. Most likely support will only go so far in the future too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legacy Control Surface Support - MP9? KineticSound Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 04-04-2013 10:18 PM
BFD Can't Control BFD With My Midi Controler.. Also KORE Is Giving Me A 6097 toolgirl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-12-2009 04:30 PM
Legacy device control? soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-23-2009 05:08 AM
getting midi controler to control plugins paul_g 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-07-2007 06:04 PM
Legacy MIDI Control Surfaces for 7.2.1 ? Paul S-Tone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-30-2006 03:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com