Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-15-2007, 02:25 PM
dmt2828 dmt2828 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Default Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help!

Ok so i just got an old technics turntable which works in perfect condition. Now i have the turntable connected to my mbox 2 through the two s/pdif inputs (the red and white inputs). Im trying to sample the music from vinyl and record it into pro tools le 7. Maybe im missing something to do this, so let me know. I currently don have a mixer for the turntable and im only using one turntable. My problem is i cant hear any audio from the turntable when its playing. I already tryed going to the setup/hardware and selecting the s/pdif for sound source and still no sound. So any help would be appreciated..I dont know if later i need an audio editing program to select a portion of a song to edit. Later though i am getting recycle 2.1 for reason 3.0 to start sampling with. so any advice would be appreciated... I just wanna hear sound from my monitors from pro tools le 7, to hear the turntable...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-2007, 03:17 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,849
Default Re: Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help!

Turntables do not connect directly the Mbox 2 and definiately not to the S/PDIF inputs! Only the Mbox 2 Pro has Phono inputs. To connect a turntable to an Mbox 2, you will need a type of preamp for turntables. Connect you turntable's RCA outputs to the preamp and then from the preamp to the Mbox 2 via the 1/4" inputs.

Disconnect it from the S/PDIF connectors as you may have already caused damage to your Mbox 2! S/PDIF is for digital sources. Although it uses the common RCA type connector, it is not for analog consummer electroincs.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.15.7 running Protools 2020.11
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2007, 03:30 PM
dmt2828 dmt2828 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help!

can i connect it possibly through a digital sampler then to the mbox?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2007, 03:33 PM
dmt2828 dmt2828 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help!

or should i just get a mixer for the turntable then plug the mixer to the mbox?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2007, 04:48 PM
kRokksOn kRokksOn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 160
Default Re: Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help!

If you have a mixer with a phono amp, that would be your easy way out (or in).
just DON´T connect analog signals into the S/pdifs!
__________________
"lyrics, wasted time between solos!"

kiddipalli@simnet.is
syrland.is
myspace.com/kiddipalli
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-15-2007, 04:54 PM
dmt2828 dmt2828 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help!

ok thanks i hope i aint damage nothing..what mixer would you recomend for what im doin? hip hop..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2007, 06:13 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,549
Default Re: Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help!

ART makes a couple of boxes with phono preamps:
www.artproaudio.com

You can get the audio from the turntable into the Mbox (into the analog inputs, NOT the SPDIF) with this one for around $50:
ART DJ PRE II

Or record directly into the computer with quite a few more features with this one for around $100:
ART USBPhonoPlus v2

The last one was just announced in January, and they don't have the spec sheet on their website yet, or a picture of the back I/O, so I'm not sure exactly what connections are available.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
turntable > mbox 3 > macbook mjhann83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-19-2013 10:50 AM
Turntable to Mbox 2 pro Ernie Reed 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 08-03-2010 05:12 PM
Conneting a turntable to a Mbox 2 aramayo_jc Tips & Tricks 4 06-19-2008 06:55 AM
Pro Tools LE Mbox 2 connecting to Gemini Turntable?!! Help! dmt2828 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-27-2007 06:21 PM
Need help with connecting a turntable to the mbox 2!!! Help! dmt2828 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-15-2007 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com